Trying to play a self-made campaign?

Discussion and development of scenarios and campaigns for the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Machaeus

Trying to play a self-made campaign?

Post by Machaeus »

Hello, I'm a complete newbie who wants to make sure his likely-not-so-good first attempt at a Wesnoth campaign even works. My question is, how do I do that without putting it on the chopping block just yet?

I'm REALLY sure I don't want to publicly upload this thing yet, since A: it's just one scenario/map so far; B: I don't have sprites and units and stuff for my "custom" race (read: ripped from a webcomic I read obsessively; and yes, I do plan on giving credit), so I'm using the humans as a stand-in currently; and C: it probably defiles canon for Wesnoth pretty badly. If it were just the last one, it might be forgivable, but as is? :P

I'm probably not gonna be able to see/reply for the next 8 hours, since it's WAY past time for me to fall unconscious for 8 hours and perhaps vividly hallucinate, then suffer amnesia about the whole experience, but please feel free to tell me if I derp'd anything up in my first post.
WhiteWolf
Forum Moderator

Re: Trying to play a self-made campaign?

Post by WhiteWolf »

Hey,

If I get your meaning, you want to test if it runs at all, without uploading it to the add-on server, right?
That's the easiest thing to do. Put your campaign's directory to your add-ons folder, if it's not there already. (Should be inside your user directiory. user/.local/share/wesnoth for linux, and somewhere in AppData for windows. Maybe someone else can tell you about the windows location, I would have to look it up...) Then see if it is displayed in your in-game campaigns menu, and try to run it. If there are problems or crash-bugs, wesnoth will detail it for you, and the game will crash. If not, then it will start, and there's your answer: it works. It doesn't mean it's bug-free though.