building a campaign - "A Second Front"

Discussion and development of scenarios and campaigns for the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

gleedads

building a campaign - "A Second Front"

Post by gleedads »

I'm building a campaign. I'm very new to this and am still learning my away around WML and the core files. Here's a brief description of the campaign concept:

When the humans and elves defeated the orcs at the Battle of Weslath in 20 SY the elves of Wesmere Forest had sent most of their armies to fight in the battle. Some orcs, who had refused to join the main orcish host, were influenced by some necromancers to attack Wesmere while it was vulnerable. The campaign follows Ildriel, an elvish druid, who led some of the defenders. Ildriel starts the campaign with few resources at her disposal because the elven armies are away.

The campaign is intended to be very "branched". In other words, from most scenarios there are several possible "next scenarios". Often "losing" a scenario in various ways (such as by retreating or running out of time) does not result in the end of the campaign but instead takes you down an alternate story line.

Currently the campaign has 7 "main" scenarios, with an additional 5 scenarios in side branches. It's actually hard to say which are the main scenarios and which are the side branches. I'm still fleshing out the last part of the story (it's just the skeleton of a plot so far), but I suspect the campaign will be about 12-15 scenarios long when completed, with as many as 12-20 additional scenarios in side branches. I realize that this is extremely ambitious, especially for a newby like me.

The story will make significant reference to the "path of earth" and "path of faerie" of the elves and the nature of the elvish connection to the faeries. The faeries themselves will make a prominent appearance in the campaign.