Children of Dragons

Discussion and development of scenarios and campaigns for the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

MarkP

Children of Dragons

Post by MarkP »

Hello all,

This is my first post on the forums, though I've visited from time to time - usually when I've had problems. :-)

I've been playing Wesnoth for a couple of years now, and decided that like those who have gone before me, it was about time I tried my hand at writing my own campaign. I also have been wishing that there were more campaigns for the drakes - so I figured I'd write one.

It is set pretty early on in Wesnoth's history I think. Basically the premise is that the dragons used to be plentiful, but their numbers have dwindled (for some unexplored reason - that could be another campaign...). Their descendants (the drakes) have been scratching out an existence underground, but have decided it's time to move above ground. So no one except the other underground races have seen them before. That's the theory I'm currently working on, anyway. ;-)

At the moment I've got 2 complete scenarios (one is dialogue only), and am testing/fixing the third. I'll post the files once I've got the third scenario working properly, hopefully in the next couple of days.

No doubt it needs some serious balancing - the third scenario in particular - but so far it works, and ... it's the drakes, so it's gotta be good, right? ;-)

I'm planning to create at least one new unit, but not sure at this stage whether I'll get a chance to do that before I post the first version. Also, I'm pretty useless artistically, so it probably won't look very good even if I do. If anyone is interested in helping on that front, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Anyway, just thought I'd throw it out there - if anyone has any suggestions etc., please feel free to share.

BTW: As far as posting the campaign - do I just attach a zipped archive of the files here, or do I need to upload it to the campaign server?

Thanks,

Mark