Afrikaans translation - 2019 - Volunteers needed

Discuss and coordinate development of mainline and user-made content translations.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

casperl

Afrikaans translation - 2019 - Volunteers needed

Post by casperl »

Goeiedag aspirant Afrikaanse vertalers,

Though I have been using Linux for decades, I only started playing Wesnoth this week. The Afrikaans translation needs work, a lot of work. Their seems to have been some activity dating back many years. It is a daunting task, but I will tackle it the way you eat an elephant, in small bites. Any other Afrikaans translators, please contact me - those listed in the Wesnoth documentation seems to have moved on from the existing contact details.

I will continue the rest of this in Afrikaans, since there are certain words and phrases to be discussed. Each time I have something specific, I will reply to this message instead of creating a new forum topic.

Dankie,

Casper
RolfDhew

Re: Afrikaans translation - 2019 - Volunteers needed

Post by RolfDhew »

Hi!
It's great to hear that you're working on the afrikaans translation! I would of gladly helped, but unfortunately Afrikaans is my second language and it might complicate things. There should be some afrikaners here.
casperl

Post by casperl »

I have updated some files. In case the number 13 bus to Benoni runs over me, I have created a GitHub repo purely for the purpose of updating the latest translations work I have done. ( https://github.com/casperl/wesnoth-af )

I have emailed Friedel Wolff, the coordinator of the Afrikaans translation project and awaiting a reply.

Thx
casperl

Post by casperl »

RolfDhew wrote: January 19th, 2019, 2:18 pm It's great to hear that you're working on the afrikaans translation! I would of gladly helped, but unfortunately Afrikaans is my second language and it might complicate things. There should be some afrikaners here.