An issue with $variables in translated strings

Discuss and coordinate development of mainline and user-made content translations.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Locked
User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9742
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

An issue with $variables in translated strings

Post by zookeeper »

If there's a variable used at the beginning of the string, please leave one space at the beginning of the string before the $ sign.

Example:

If this is the original string:
" $ally_name not sure if he trust fish lady."

...then translate it like this:
" $ally_name asdf french gibberisgh qewryty"

...and NOT like this:
"$ally_name asdf french gibberisgh qewryty"

The latter way unfortunately causes some occasionally severe glitches (apparently messing up savefiles and making the string in question invisible in-game). This bug should get fixed sooner or later, of course.

I think we can write a script to automatically check and fix all the existing (mainline) translations for these, though (someone will post back here soon with more information about that), but please remember this at least when you're doing new translation.
User avatar
vonHalenbach
Translator
Posts: 398
Joined: May 3rd, 2006, 10:23 am
Location: united europe

Post by vonHalenbach »

Is this still an issue with version 1.3.14 ? Maybe it could be unstickyfied.
User avatar
Viliam
Translator
Posts: 1341
Joined: January 30th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

Post by Viliam »

Too bad we have to think about it. :(


Maybe it is too late to change this before 1.4, but it would be nice to make some simple unambiguos foolproof system, for example that all variable expressions in strings must be enclosed in {} marks, like:

"{$ally_name} not sure if he trust fish lady."

And then, we would never need this kind of discussion again...
VS
Translator
Posts: 187
Joined: November 27th, 2005, 10:07 am

Post by VS »

Maybe | could work there? It is already used to force variable end...
SkeletonCrew
Developer
Posts: 787
Joined: March 31st, 2006, 6:55 am

Post by SkeletonCrew »

Can somebody test whether it's really still an issue and if so file a bug report at bugs.wesnoth.org? I couldn't find a report there, which makes the odds it getting fixed rather small.
User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9742
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Re: An issue with $variables in translated strings

Post by zookeeper »

As far as I can tell, this isn't an issue anymore.
User avatar
Sapient
Inactive Developer
Posts: 4453
Joined: November 26th, 2005, 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: An issue with $variables in translated strings

Post by Sapient »

I fixed this a long, long time ago.
http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/User:Sapient... "Looks like your skills saved us again. Uh, well at least, they saved Soarin's apple pie."
User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: An issue with $variables in translated strings

Post by Turuk »

To avoid any more confusion. :P

Locked.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
Locked