Play with the Wesnoth developers

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

User avatar
grzywacz
Inactive Developer
Posts: 303
Joined: January 29th, 2005, 9:03 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland
Contact:

Post by grzywacz »

Oh cool. I'll be there if I don't forget... 8)
dtw
Posts: 478
Joined: September 27th, 2004, 1:32 pm

Post by dtw »

Assasin wrote:so much has happened since I last logged on! I'll try to play Saturday, I'd love to play with the devs. O fcourse I'll win :wink:
I doubt it cos they play mainly co-op so you won't be able to prove how arrogant you are. Shame, you'll have to stick to doing it in the yard at recess
Signature dropped due to use of img tag
User avatar
Jastiv
Posts: 45
Joined: March 11th, 2005, 3:24 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Post by Jastiv »

I already know how to compile from source for linux, but I would love to know how to compile the cvs version, since I would like to learn how to program someday. Belive it or not newbies, you do not have to know how to write a single line of code in order to compile and run a program. It ie as easy as downloading it and following the simple directions in the readme file (as long as you have sdl installed of course, both the regular and devel versions of each sdl file)
Darth Fool
Retired Developer
Posts: 2633
Joined: March 22nd, 2004, 11:22 pm
Location: An Earl's Roadstead

Post by Darth Fool »

Jastiv wrote:I already know how to compile from source for linux, but I would love to know how to compile the cvs version, since I would like to learn how to program someday.
Well, if you know how to compile from source, all you need to know to compile from CVS is how to get the source from the CVS repository, see:

http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/WesnothCVS
User avatar
Jastiv
Posts: 45
Joined: March 11th, 2005, 3:24 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Post by Jastiv »

Alright I went into the terminal and typed the following

export CVS_RSH="ssh"

then I ran this command

cvs -z3 -d:ext:anoncvs@savannah.nongnu.org:/cvsroot/wesnoth co wesnoth

That appeared to have downloaded the cvs for wesnoth, unfortunatly, compiling it was not so easy I entered into the directory wesnoth.

I tried ./configue and it gave me the old No such file or directory
so I tried ./config

Same response
pete
Posts: 19
Joined: August 19th, 2005, 5:12 pm

Post by pete »

Jastiv wrote: I tried ./configue and it gave me the old No such file or directory
so I tried ./config
In the cvs version, you have to generate the configure script first with command "./autogen.sh". You'll need autotools (automake, autoconf) installed for this to work.
User avatar
Jastiv
Posts: 45
Joined: March 11th, 2005, 3:24 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Post by Jastiv »

Where do you get thosse tools and how do you tell if they are installed? I did try typing /.autogen.sh first. It gives me a bunch of errors.
bruno
Inactive Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: June 26th, 2005, 8:39 pm
Contact:

Post by bruno »

I got in another fun game this week. I got a late start,
because I was sorting out a conflict between Fedora Core 4
and Wesnoth. But people were playing late so I got
into a 2 human with 100 starting gold versus 2 AI with
150 starting gold on "Castle Hopping Isle" with defsy.
It turns out we accidentally left the turn limit at 20 and
didn't notice this until turn 15. But by accelerating our
attack we were able to win on turn 20. (Though if the
AI understood that its choices were between losing
and drawing it could have fought a delaying action
past turn 20 by retreating with an advanced leader.)
I also got to get some woses which I almost never do,
because I got my leader to the middle of the map where
there was lots of action and lots of money to spend.
Hopefully I will get to play next week. If there is a
windows build available, I will try to get my wife to
play as well.
bruno
Inactive Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: June 26th, 2005, 8:39 pm
Contact:

Post by bruno »

I see that CVS is now tagged 0.9.6. Is it going to matter
for developer games today whether or not we have a CVS
pull before or after it was tagged 0.9.6?

P.S. I won't be able to play in the first round of games
today as I have to go out and about in about 2 hours,
but will stop back later to play.
bruno
Inactive Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: June 26th, 2005, 8:39 pm
Contact:

Post by bruno »

bruno wrote:I see that CVS is now tagged 0.9.6. Is it going to matter
for developer games today whether or not we have a CVS
pull before or after it was tagged 0.9.6?
To answer my own question, it seems to make a difference
as the normal server wants 0.9.5 and the dev server
wants 0.9.5+cvs and neither likes 0.9.6.
pete
Posts: 19
Joined: August 19th, 2005, 5:12 pm

devsrv.wesnoth.org

Post by pete »

Whoops, I hope this is fixed (so that server runs newer version). I wanted to participate today, and just compiled a fresh cvs update, as I did last saturdays too. I thought devsrv would always run the newest variant...
bruno
Inactive Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: June 26th, 2005, 8:39 pm
Contact:

Post by bruno »

You fixed it as I was rebuilding with a modified version.
I will get a fresh cvs update and rebuild and let you
know how it works.
bruno
Inactive Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: June 26th, 2005, 8:39 pm
Contact:

Post by bruno »

I am getting 0.9.6+cvs for the version string with my
latest pull, so it will probably work. It will be about
5 minutes before I can actually test it with the game
server.
bruno
Inactive Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: June 26th, 2005, 8:39 pm
Contact:

Post by bruno »

I got in, so everything is fine.
User avatar
ivanovic
Lord of Translations
Posts: 1147
Joined: September 28th, 2004, 10:10 pm
Location: Germany

Post by ivanovic »

The devsrv has now been updated to be 0.9.6+cvs. So please update your clients to match this version if you do want to play on the cvs server today.
Post Reply