Excluding a faction in multiplayer

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
regnbage
Posts: 12
Joined: September 20th, 2006, 9:04 pm
Location: Russia

Excluding a faction in multiplayer

Post by regnbage »

Is it possible to exclude a faction in Multiplayer > Local game? I'd prefer that Knalgan Alliance would be excluded from the random choice of factions for either me and computer players (AIs).

User avatar
Ravana
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2370
Joined: January 29th, 2012, 12:49 am
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Excluding a faction in multiplayer

Post by Ravana »

You can add except=Knalgan Alliance to that [multiplayer_side].

Example https://github.com/ProditorMagnus/Agele ... in.cfg#L14

regnbage
Posts: 12
Joined: September 20th, 2006, 9:04 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Excluding a faction in multiplayer

Post by regnbage »

Ravana wrote:
January 3rd, 2020, 6:44 pm
You can add except=Knalgan Alliance to that [multiplayer_side].

Example https://github.com/ProditorMagnus/Agele ... in.cfg#L14
Is the file that should be edited (_main.cfg) a part of source code or a part of installed software?

User avatar
Ravana
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2370
Joined: January 29th, 2012, 12:49 am
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Excluding a faction in multiplayer

Post by Ravana »

If you dont care about mp safety you can find your local copy of https://github.com/wesnoth/wesnoth/blob ... ras.cfg#L4 and change that.

User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
Posts: 4223
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Excluding a faction in multiplayer

Post by Pentarctagon »

regnbage wrote:
January 3rd, 2020, 9:18 pm
Ravana wrote:
January 3rd, 2020, 6:44 pm
You can add except=Knalgan Alliance to that [multiplayer_side].

Example https://github.com/ProditorMagnus/Agele ... in.cfg#L14
Is the file that should be edited (_main.cfg) a part of source code or a part of installed software?
I suppose it depends on how you want to define those. If it helps, it's part of the configuration (cfg files), so changes to them take effect just by restarting wesnoth.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

regnbage
Posts: 12
Joined: September 20th, 2006, 9:04 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Excluding a faction in multiplayer

Post by regnbage »

Ravana wrote:
January 3rd, 2020, 9:24 pm
If you dont care about mp safety you can find your local copy of https://github.com/wesnoth/wesnoth/blob ... ras.cfg#L4 and change that.
I don't care about MP safety.
With your help, I've edited my
/usr/share/games/wesnoth/1.10/data/multiplayer/eras.cfg
file and now it seems to work just as expected. Thank you very much! :)

regnbage
Posts: 12
Joined: September 20th, 2006, 9:04 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Excluding a faction in multiplayer

Post by regnbage »

Pentarctagon wrote:
January 3rd, 2020, 10:18 pm
I suppose it depends on how you want to define those. If it helps, it's part of the configuration (cfg files), so changes to them take effect just by restarting wesnoth.
I'd rather go with editing of the installed files. Having edited this file
/usr/share/games/wesnoth/1.10/data/multiplayer/eras.cfg
seems to work fine for me so far.

Post Reply