Quantifying how good/bad units are per-level. (UNFINISHED)

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

SmashingSuccess

Quantifying how good/bad units are per-level. (UNFINISHED)

Post by SmashingSuccess »

As a game designer, I've always been interested in how to quantify how good/bad units are based on their level in this game. To get into this subject, there are a LOT of things that need to broached with a lot of care and tact. As such, I encourage anyone who notices anything I missed or has any questions to voice them.
Method
Every aspect of a unit is to be tallied and added to a total via points. Any negative aspects will take away from these points depending on how it negatively impacts the unit. The goal is to come as close as possible to the general consensus of unit balance while introducing as little bias as possible.

Terrain
Terrain is an integral part of Wesnoth, as it determines a great deal of unit's abilities as well as their defenses and even where they can move. For the purposes of this discussion, I am electing to completely disregard campaign scenarios and focus on a generalized unit value, as in certain scenarios, certain units shine particularly bright where they might not otherwise due to terrain. Fog-of-War and Shroud are ignored for the purposes of this examination, but abilities that alter a foe's ability to see units(such as Nightstalk and Skirmisher) will be factored in.

Defenses - We all know that terrain serves to grant percentage based defenses to units. Due to this fact, units will have differing levels of worth on different tile types(a dwarf in water vs a dwarf in the mountains isn't exactly a fair comparison). These differing scores will be collected and averaged together toward the final unit's score. The per-tile calculation will be the 2nd to last calculation made, as it is a collation of values itself, and the final score is a collation of collations.