Multiplayer Issue

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Althis

MP Issue Causing Game To Force Start

Post by Althis »

Hello,

My friend and I have been playing Wesnoth on and off for about 3 years. We recently decided to play again, and we downloaded some MP campaigns to try. One of them is called " Haunted Woods " and was a favorite of ours about a year or so ago. The issue we are having now (and this sometimes happens on other maps, but I can't remember which ones) is that the he joins my game, it will automatically start the map without me. If I join his, the same thing happens. Regardless of what we do, the game will start without the other person. What is going on here? Is there a way around this?

Thanks,
Althis
Althis

Multiplayer Issue

Post by Althis »

Hey guys, my friend and I love the co op campaign called "Haunted Woods". For some reason, whenever we try to play, the game won't start for both of us. We always get DC'd into our own separate instances of the match. Whats going on?

EDIT: I don't know why the board decided to pull my post from a year ago, but it remains true. After a year, we decided to go back and try the map again and it still fails.
Pentarctagon
Project Manager

Re: Multiplayer Issue

Post by Pentarctagon »

The thread for that add-on is here. I don't know if this is a bug with 1.12 or with the add-on, but the add-on looks like it's abandoned - it hasn't been updated for just over 3 years, and the author hasn't visited the forums in about that long.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
Althis

Post by Althis »

Thanks for the note, I didn't know that thread existed.

So: if I download the campaign on a new version of the game, then download the matching version of Wesnoth, how could I temporarily set up an online multiplayer match?