Negative gold

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

revolting_peasant

Negative gold

Post by revolting_peasant » May 29th, 2012, 6:14 pm

I'm a newbie player, working through the South Guard campaign.

I've recently started the 'Into the Depths' level, and it looked like I was going to max out my gold. Since then,
Spoiler:
The "Income and Upkeep" section of the Help dialog says it's all very simple, but it's not that simple...

- Can you have a negative amount of gold?
- What happens when hit 0 gold, w.r.t. unit upkeep?
- What's the rule carry-over if you finish with a negative amount of gold?

I suppose I could try and figure this out for myself but I thought some indication belongs in the help... plus I was hoping for a rationale for the answers as well.

Ceres
Forum Regular

Re: Negative gold

Post by Ceres » May 29th, 2012, 6:22 pm

revolting_peasant wrote:- Can you have a negative amount of gold?
Yes.
- What happens when hit 0 gold, w.r.t. unit upkeep?
Nothing special happens, except your gold amount dropping further.
- What's the rule carry-over if you finish with a negative amount of gold?
If your gold reserves after carryover percentage calculation are lower than the next scenario's default starting gold, you start with the scenario's default starting gold.

revolting_peasant

Post by revolting_peasant » May 29th, 2012, 6:41 pm

Ceres: Thanks for the speedy reply. I was sort of wondering whether you shouldn't be losing units.

Efinari

Post by Efinari » May 29th, 2012, 7:34 pm

revolting_peasant wrote:I was sort of wondering whether you shouldn't be losing units.