Noob question -- what to do with allied villages?

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

panfist

Noob question -- what to do with allied villages?

Post by panfist »

I just started playing the game and I'm working through the included campaigns. I was wondering what the general idea is of what to do about allied villages...do you leave them for allies or do you cap them?
Dunno

Re: Noob question -- what to do with allied villages?

Post by Dunno »

well, in campaigns, you don't really have to care about your AI ally, so go ahead and capture them. Usually allies have worse recruits (since they can't recall units with half-filled xp) and frankly bots aren't as good as human players
Oh, I'm sorry, did I break your concentration?
zookeeper
WML Wizard

Post by zookeeper »

I usually grab them when I easily can; there's no penalties for taking them and I can make better use of the money than the AI can.
panfist

Post by panfist »

If I could ask another unrelated noob question in this thread...

Is there a way to see how much it costs to recall units? It doesn't seem to list the cost anywhere on the recall screen and I think it's more expensive than just recruiting fresh units.
Great_Mage_Atari

Post by Great_Mage_Atari »

20 gold. All the time, every time. Income penalty is relevant to a unit's level.
Iris
Site Administrator

Post by Iris »

panfist wrote:I think it's more expensive than just recruiting fresh units.
L2 and L3 units are either unavailable for recruiting in most cases or cost much more than 20g, and there are situations where recalling L1 or L0 units makes sense (i.e. a unit with a powerful trait combination or about to level-up) or can even be cheaper than recruiting (Horsemen and Gryphon Riders come to mind).
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm.
Velensk
Multiplayer Contributor

Post by Velensk »