Units list not complete...

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Merudo
Posts: 18
Joined: September 12th, 2006, 10:42 pm

Units list not complete...

Post by Merudo » September 19th, 2006, 11:22 am

I'm playing version 1.1.9 for windows and I'd like to know, is there a way to make the units list complete ? I reinstalled Wesnoth and now all the units I saw are not in the units list anymore. This is very annoying and makes it hard to plan ahead with units and/or choose a good hero in games like DotG since I can't see the stats of lvl 3 units !

Oreb
Posts: 1278
Joined: September 9th, 2005, 12:30 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: Units list not complete...

Post by Oreb » September 19th, 2006, 12:00 pm

The idea of the units list, is so that you first have to see that unit in battle before you get 'intelligence' on that unit. It's like battle in the real world, the enemy could have an unknown unit that you have no idea how powerful it is, and how to defeat it.

So to complete your list, you'll have to play wesnoth for a while. It took me basically all the mainliine campaigns to get the list complete for the default era.
I am Oreb, Lord of the Darthien
Give your comments to the World of Orbivm

User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9740
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Post by zookeeper » September 19th, 2006, 12:04 pm

...or, apparently, just use start the game with wesnoth -d once (source: http://www.wesnoth.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12987).

User avatar
JW
Posts: 5046
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 7:06 am
Location: Chicago-ish, Illinois

Post by JW » September 19th, 2006, 3:23 pm

zookeeper wrote:...or, apparently, just use start the game with wesnoth -d once (source: http://www.wesnoth.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12987).
And how, exactly, is this done?

-not to beat a dead horse, but this is a really silly feature.

User avatar
Tomsik
Posts: 1401
Joined: February 7th, 2005, 7:04 am
Location: Poland

Post by Tomsik » September 19th, 2006, 4:12 pm

zookeeper wrote:...or, apparently, just use start the game with wesnoth -d once
Weee! First real wesnoth cheat! :P

User avatar
turin
Lord of the East
Posts: 11662
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:17 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by turin » September 19th, 2006, 10:05 pm

*sigh*


Can we PLEASE get this fixed? Or at least get some acknowledgement that it is a problem that should be fixed? :roll:
For I am Turin Turambar - Master of Doom, by doom mastered. On permanent Wesbreak. Will not respond to private messages. Sorry!
And I hate stupid people.
The World of Orbivm

borisblue
Posts: 91
Joined: March 4th, 2006, 1:38 am
Contact:

Post by borisblue » September 21st, 2006, 11:17 pm

turin wrote:*sigh*


Can we PLEASE get this fixed? Or at least get some acknowledgement that it is a problem that should be fixed? :roll:
I believe consensus among the devs is that this "feature" will stay :(

Elestel
Posts: 61
Joined: February 8th, 2006, 1:09 pm
Location: Valladolid, España

Post by Elestel » September 22nd, 2006, 12:56 am

To complet the Wesnothdex is not an interesting challenge...
Ignacio Dadoverde Elestel
Nada es lo que parece, y lo que parece nada es...
Always there's more you can't see than you can...


Spanish translator of UTBS, TB, SPMPP

borisblue
Posts: 91
Joined: March 4th, 2006, 1:38 am
Contact:

Post by borisblue » September 22nd, 2006, 3:23 am

Elestel wrote:To complet the Wesnothdex is not an interesting challenge...
LOL, didn't see the obvious pokemon analogy untill you said this.

User avatar
Tomsik
Posts: 1401
Joined: February 7th, 2005, 7:04 am
Location: Poland

Post by Tomsik » September 22nd, 2006, 3:28 pm

OBVIOUS pokemon analogy?! :shock:

halleck
Posts: 229
Joined: October 12th, 2005, 3:47 pm

Post by halleck » September 22nd, 2006, 8:33 pm

Tomsik wrote:OBVIOUS pokemon analogy?! :shock:
Ya, i couldnt help of thinking of the "pokedex" as soon as i heard of finding all of the units... :P
Screw it... I can go without a sig.

Assasin
Posts: 956
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 3:51 am
Location: Where ever my mind takes me
Contact:

Post by Assasin » September 22nd, 2006, 9:02 pm

.....pokemon......
I speak what's on my mind.

Which is why nothing I say makes sense.

User avatar
Cuyo Quiz
Posts: 1777
Joined: May 21st, 2005, 12:02 am
Location: South America

Post by Cuyo Quiz » September 23rd, 2006, 2:38 am

Yes, pokemons.

Go at it.
Cuyo Quiz,where madness meets me :D
Turn on, tune in, fall out.
"I know that, but every single person nags about how negative turin is; it should be in the FPI thread "Turin should give positive comments" =)"-Neorice,23 Sep 2004

borisblue
Posts: 91
Joined: March 4th, 2006, 1:38 am
Contact:

Post by borisblue » September 23rd, 2006, 3:02 am

Tomsik wrote:OBVIOUS pokemon analogy?! :shock:
Well, you have a list of "creatures" that are unknown to us untill we see them, some of the creatures "evolve" to more powerful ones when they get battle experience

Yeah, seems pretty obvious. The entire "hidden wesnoth-dex" idea looks very pokemon-inspired.

User avatar
Tomsik
Posts: 1401
Joined: February 7th, 2005, 7:04 am
Location: Poland

Post by Tomsik » September 23rd, 2006, 7:40 am

Somehow I feel that was not intentional at all... :|

Post Reply