LUA Resources, Help and a tiny Beginners Guide by enclave

Discussion of Lua and LuaWML support, development, and ideas.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

enclave

LUA Resources, Help and a tiny Beginners Guide by enclave

Post by enclave »

Hi all, I was messing around with some lua today.. User Interface to be more precise..
It's quite a nightmare to be honest.. so I thought every little drop of information helps.. in this area..
So I will be putting here my little drops of successful codes.. even if they are tiny..

First of all, if you are starting lua, you need to add the lua helper code somewhere in preload event (it might be possible that you can add it somewhere else, for example in main.cfg, but I'm not sure.. I'm a big lua noob!!!! keep it in mind when reading me.. all I want from my resources is to show you the codes that did work for me.. and therefore might work for you.. since wesnoth lua help is quite miserable and I hardly can even make the shown examples to work. So I hope I can save some time to somebody by displaying my totally noobish but working codes.)

I assume you already know WML and how add-ons work.. so I won't be much informative on that subject.. If you don't know how WML or add-ons work, just better don't read further.. it will make no sense. Save your time..
So in short.. when you begin lua, you need to either
1) find your main.cfg of your add-on and add there a code like this (if you want to write purely in lua I guess):

Code: Select all

[lua]
    code = "wesnoth.dofile '~add-ons/Your_Fabulous_Addon/macros/your_first.lua'"
[/lua]
just before the #endif should work fine..
Then create file in "Your_Fabulous_Addon" , "macros" folder.. with "your_first.lua" name..
And start this file with the following code to avoid any problems.. otherwise something may just not work.

helper = wesnoth.require "lua/helper.lua"
T = helper.set_wml_tag_metatable {}