how do you debug and/or log message?

Discussion of Lua and LuaWML support, development, and ideas.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

salade

how do you debug and/or log message?

Post by salade »

hi, I'm new to Lua development in Wesnoth. Just trying to write some simple lua code for a task, and I wonder how to log and debug lua. e.g. if i want to print the value of a variable on screen or in a log file or whatever console if there is one, how to do so? i heard that Wesnoth client could be started in a debug mode, where can i find information about that? tyvm
Anonymissimus
Inactive Developer

Re: how do you debug and/or log message?

Post by Anonymissimus »

Launch wesnoth with command line arguments
--debug --log-debug=scripting/lua
and put wesnoth.message(var)
into your code (without --log ... it outputs only a chat message).
You may find the "dbms" function in the wesnoth lua pack interesting.
projects (BfW 1.12):
A Simple Campaign: campaign draft for wml startersPlan Your Advancements: mp mod
The Earth's Gut: sp campaignSettlers of Wesnoth: mp scenarioWesnoth Lua Pack: lua tags and utils
updated to 1.8 and handed over: A Gryphon's Tale: sp campaign
salade

Post by salade »

thx. i'm able to print out a message in chat now. with --log-debug=scripting/lua (and i also tried --log-info=scripting/lua), i'm not sure where the log file go. where is the default log path? or what is the log file name? (so i could do a full search to look for it) there is a blank stdout.txt (it maybe because i've started 2 wesnoth client from the same installation, not sure)

another question about lua development. whenever i make a change, i need to restart the wesnoth client for the change to take effect. is there any better way to develop? like any parameter to disable cache or sth like that?
Moderator Emeritus

Post by 8680 »

You can press F5 (Control-F5 on a Mac) to reload the cache without having to exit and relaunch.
salade

Post by salade »