Wesnoth 1.13.4

Get help with compiling or installing the game, and discuss announcements of new official releases.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby GbDorn » May 27th, 2016, 2:40 pm

gfgtdf wrote:I couldn't reproduce this on 1.13.4+dev on AoI mainline campaigns first scenario.

Maybe it has been fixed then. How did you test it? I am doing more testing and it actually depends on the event type:
- inside a moveto or recruit event, it works as expected.
- inside a "side turn" or "turn refresh" event, it is partially ignored for ai sides. The ai can perform a single action: recruit a single unit, move a single unit or attack with a single unit.

edit: changed wording of last sentence
Last edited by GbDorn on May 28th, 2016, 8:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
GbDorn
 
Posts: 60
Joined: March 26th, 2014, 5:07 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby gfgtdf » May 27th, 2016, 3:27 pm

I was testing in a moveto event. (or rather without an event, but with using wesnoth.wml_actions.end_turn {} in lua console during an ememy movement.)
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby GbDorn » May 27th, 2016, 6:29 pm

bug #2.
I got the same error message than in the bug reported by James_The_Invisible and rogul. The problem comes from:
[modify_side]
side= # whatever
controller=ai
[/modify_side]

When the modified side is supposed to play the game crashes. This happens before a "side turn" event is played, and even when the modified side was already an ai.

error engine: Networked team encountered by playsingle_controller.
wesnoth-1.13: /build/...1.13.4/src/playsingle_controller.cpp:646: virtual void playsingle_controller::sync_end_turn(): Assertion `end_turn_ == END_TURN_SYNCED' failed.

bug #3
I cannot use :droid on ai sides. It works on a human side, or a human side that has previously been droided into an ai.
Typing either "droid 2" "droid 2 on" "droid 2 off" I get the following in lua:
Error: Can't droid a local ai side: '2'.

combo #
Using [modify_side] side=2, controller= from either human/ai to either human/ai then :droid 2 gives:
Error: Can't droid networked side: '2'.
GbDorn
 
Posts: 60
Joined: March 26th, 2014, 5:07 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby gfgtdf » May 27th, 2016, 10:38 pm

The bug in [modify_side] reported by James_The_Invisible is already fixed in master.

@bug #3:
Hmm yes this doesn't really suprise me, wha is there exat usecase where you want this behaviour?

@combo #:
this seems ot be caused by bug #2
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby Ravana » May 27th, 2016, 10:41 pm

@bug #3:
Hmm yes this doesn't really suprise me, wha is there exat usecase where you want this behaviour?
I would want this to allow easy way to switch if survival enemy side should be ai or player.
User avatar
Ravana
Moderator
 
Posts: 1477
Joined: January 29th, 2012, 12:49 am
Location: Estonia

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby gfgtdf » May 27th, 2016, 10:56 pm

Ravana wrote:I would want this to allow easy way to switch if survival enemy side should be ai or player.

You mean for debugging or during normal gameplay? You could give me an example of such a survival?


And i forgot to meantion: when the [modify_side] is fixed i 1.13.5 you can sureley also add modification the has rightclickmenu/hotkey + [modify_side] to change an ai side to human.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby Ravana » May 27th, 2016, 11:23 pm

Potentially normal gameplay. I have High Hopes to make adaptive difficulty for orocia to also make that gametype meaningful; currently having human intelligence there would be way too large advantage.
User avatar
Ravana
Moderator
 
Posts: 1477
Joined: January 29th, 2012, 12:49 am
Location: Estonia

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby GbDorn » May 27th, 2016, 11:37 pm

gfgtdf wrote:The bug in [modify_side] reported by James_The_Invisible is already fixed in master.

Thanks.

gfgtdf wrote:@bug #3:
Hmm yes this doesn't really suprise me, wha is there exat usecase where you want this behaviour?

I reported it because it is a change from 1.12.
I don't use it much but it can be handy in debug to take back control when there are multiple ai sides playing in a row.
You can change an AI into a human during another AI's turn and :inspect. A [set_menu_item] would not work in this case (using it during other sides turn).
GbDorn
 
Posts: 60
Joined: March 26th, 2014, 5:07 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby Pentarctagon » May 30th, 2016, 6:13 pm

GbDorn wrote:
gfgtdf wrote:@bug #3:
Hmm yes this doesn't really suprise me, wha is there exat usecase where you want this behaviour?

I reported it because it is a change from 1.12.
I don't use it much but it can be handy in debug to take back control when there are multiple ai sides playing in a row.
You can change an AI into a human during another AI's turn and :inspect. A [set_menu_item] would not work in this case (using it during other sides turn).


Not sure if this would fit your use, but ever since 1.13.1, [set_menu_item] supports the attribute of "synced":
[set_menu_item] now has a synced=yes/no attribute, which defaults to yes. If synced=no is specified, the menu item will also be available when it’s not the player’s turn and the results of any actions it executes will not be sent to other clients (which means that you must not change the game state from an unsynced menu item’s commands block).
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby gfgtdf » May 30th, 2016, 8:18 pm

GbDorn wrote:I reported it because it is a change from 1.12.
I don't use it much but it can be handy in debug to take back control when there are multiple ai sides playing in a row.
You can change an AI into a human during another AI's turn and :inspect. A [set_menu_item] would not work in this case (using it during other sides turn).


Afaik :droid during an ai side doesn't work in 1.12 eigher since it will just end the ais turn (and mostlikeley cause OOS) instead of giving you control over it.

Pentarctagon wrote:Not sure if this would fit your use, but ever since 1.13.1, [set_menu_item] supports the attribute of "synced":
[set_menu_item] now has a synced=yes/no attribute, which defaults to yes. If synced=no is specified, the menu item will also be available when it’s not the player’s turn and the results of any actions it executes will not be sent to other clients (which means that you must not change the game state from an unsynced menu item’s commands block).


Yes this will mostlikeley work but it might cause OOS in mp games, since it wikk onyl set the controller on that client.

The problem here is that although the wiki (or the OOS thread idk) say explicitly that you shouldn't rely on the controller= value to be the same on all clients and thus shouldnt be used to change the gamestate dependent on it, the game engine actually does exactly that: at the end of the scenario we by default proceed to the next scenario iff there is at least one living human side, whichl will casue OOS if a side is an ai on one side and human on another.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby Rodick » July 26th, 2016, 10:13 am

Nice changes, is there way to add weather animations (rain, sun beams, etc), also some weather sound effects with birds in background or similar and when it is night owls sounds... Not often but sometime.
Is that possible?
Rodick
 
Posts: 11
Joined: July 26th, 2016, 9:47 am

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby Celtic_Minstrel » July 26th, 2016, 9:24 pm

I think this is possible, but I'm not sure how it would be done. (There are already light beams as a terrain overlay, though I think those are intended for shafts of light entering a cave rather than sunbeams.) Occasional transient sounds should be possible too, maybe with an event each turn that decides whether to play the sound. (Or you could implement the background sounds as a "music" track.)
Author of The Black Cross of Aleron campaign and Default++ era.
Maintainer of Steelhive.
User avatar
Celtic_Minstrel
Developer
 
Posts: 770
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby Paulomat4 » July 26th, 2016, 10:10 pm

The campaign for the era of Magic (i forgot it's Name ) has at least one scenario in the Rain. I don't know how it's done, but if somebody cares he can dig into the code :)
Creator of Dawn of Thunder and Global Unitmarkers

"I thought Naga's used semi-automatic crossbows with incendiary thermite arrows . . . my beliefs that this race is awesome are now shattered." - Evil Earl
User avatar
Paulomat4
Moderator
 
Posts: 684
Joined: October 16th, 2012, 3:32 pm
Location: Wesmere library, probably summoning Zhangor

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby Pentarctagon » July 27th, 2016, 12:01 am

Another potential problem would be performance. Even the existing animated water tends to have somewhat jerky movements, and I can't imagine that adding weather effects on top of that is the best idea.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Wesnoth 1.13.4

Postby Rodick » July 27th, 2016, 12:22 am

Pentarctagon wrote:Another potential problem would be performance. Even the existing animated water tends to have somewhat jerky movements, and I can't imagine that adding weather effects on top of that is the best idea.

Maybe option in video settings that would enable such things if performance is problem? (:
Rodick
 
Posts: 11
Joined: July 26th, 2016, 9:47 am

PreviousNext

Return to Release Announcements, Compiling & Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests