13.10-dev hex fields movement bug

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:

13.10-dev hex fields movement bug

Postby phocasbyz » February 4th, 2018, 12:57 pm

Hello
[edit rewording]
with a fresh compil from the Git made on 03/02

The Battle for Wesnoth version 1.13.10+dev (7ca5a0df-Clean)
Running on Ubuntu 17.10

i saw really strange things about the hex fields with some units
here is an exemple with flat land and the subtype "farmland"
every land unit should go freely over flat hex fields

the foodpad unit can move freely accros it and you can see the standard 40% defense
but the highwayman see it as impassable terrain with a red 0% defense
as you can see the highwayman can move over others hexs. it's only the farmland type that blocks him

it is in the liberty campain , scenario 4


Game paths
==========

Data dir: /home/phocas/wesnoth-dev
User config dir: /home/phocas/.config/wesnoth
User data dir: /home/phocas/.local/share/wesnoth/1.13
Saves dir: /home/phocas/.local/share/wesnoth/1.13/saves
Add-ons dir: /home/phocas/.local/share/wesnoth/1.13/data/add-ons
Cache dir: /home/phocas/.cache/wesnoth

Libraries
=========

Boost: 1.62
OpenSSL/libcrypto: 1.0.2g (runtime 1.0.2g)
Cairo: 1.14.10 (runtime 1.14.10)
Pango: 1.40.12 (runtime 1.40.12)
SDL: 2.0.6 (runtime 2.0.6)
SDL_image: 2.0.1 (runtime 2.0.1)
SDL_mixer: 2.0.1 (runtime 2.0.1)
SDL_ttf: 2.0.14 (runtime 2.0.14)
libpng: 1.6.34 (runtime 1.6.34)

Features
========

Experimental OpenMP support: no
PNG screenshots: yes
Lua console completion: yes
Legacy bidirectional rendering: yes
D-Bus notifications back-end: yes
Attachments
Libert-Cache-cache-Sauvegarde_automatique13.gz
save game
(35.54 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
baldras-error-en.png
highwayman
harper-ok-en.png
footpad
Last edited by phocasbyz on February 5th, 2018, 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
phocasbyz
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 4th, 2018, 12:31 pm

Re: 13.10-dev tile map movement bug

Postby phocasbyz » February 4th, 2018, 1:14 pm

bad news

i tried again with the same build and the same saved game but now it's working
baldras can now pass through farmland tiles with the standard 40% bonus
???
the only change is a reboot...
Attachments
baldras-ok.png
phocasbyz
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 4th, 2018, 12:31 pm

Re: 13.10-dev tile map movement bug

Postby phocasbyz » February 4th, 2018, 7:12 pm

during the same game session from the previous post the farmland problem raise again
most of the units can not move on it except for the outlaw

a new reboot solve the problem again
Tell me if you want some specif files or log
Attachments
mage.png
bandit.png
outlaw_ok.png
phocasbyz
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 4th, 2018, 12:31 pm

Re: 13.10-dev tile map movement bug

Postby Pentarctagon » February 4th, 2018, 9:24 pm

99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: 13.10-dev tile map movement bug

Postby Soliton » February 5th, 2018, 12:04 am

Check that you have no add-on installed. And test if it only happens after loading a save.
"If gameplay requires it, they can be made to live on Venus." -- scott
Soliton
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 1517
Joined: April 5th, 2005, 3:25 pm
Location: #wesnoth-mp

Re: 13.10-dev tile map movement bug

Postby doofus-01 » February 5th, 2018, 12:48 am

I'm seeing this too, on a 1.13.11. I'm having trouble reproducing it reliably, but I can say that flat terrains with an overlay (like the farm-rows) sometimes become impassible to some units. Just reloading the save doesn't seem to change anything, but if you quit to title-screen, hit F5, and then reload, the problem goes away. There were no Lua errors or anything on terminal output.

If I can figure out anything more specific, I'll post a git issue, assuming one doesn't already exist.
---------------------------
EDIT: Well, it's somewhat reproducible in an add-on, but playing Liberty up to "Unlawful Orders" (with empty add-ons directory) doesn't show it. I think it has to do with some move-type data getting messed up, in the case I'm seeing it's "smallfoot", probably same as what OP saw.

The only errors I see in Liberty and the add-on play-throughs are:
Code: Select all
warning ai/ca/move_to_targets: unexpected outcome of move
error ai/actions: Error #2007 (move_result::E_NOT_REACHED_DESTINATION) in full move by side 1 from location 43,30 to location 50,21

The first line is only in the add-on, the second line is in both. (The x,y locations don't seem to be relevant to anything, as far as the suddenly impassable terrain is concerned.)

Weak tea, but it's all I've got right now.
BfW 1.12 supported, but active development only for BfW 1.13/1.14: Bad Moon Rising | Trinity | Archaic Era |
| Abandoned: Tales of the Setting Sun
GitHub link for these projects
User avatar
doofus-01
Art Contributor
 
Posts: 3607
Joined: January 6th, 2008, 9:27 pm
Location: USA, the civilized part.

Re: 13.10-dev tile map movement bug

Postby phocasbyz » February 5th, 2018, 5:50 pm

Soliton wrote:Check that you have no add-on installed. And test if it only happens after loading a save.


it happens before loading a save
- start a new campaign
- play some scenariies
- then it happens randomly
but if ypu quit the game and start it again (without reboot) and load the last save the problem vanished
all the hexs are ok after a new game start

so you can not reproduce it with a save file (bad news...)

i had old add-ones from an old standard 12.6 install
i just removed .local/share/wesnoth and .cache/wesnoth do be clear

i will register the logs for the next tests
phocasbyz
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 4th, 2018, 12:31 pm

Re: 13.10-dev tile map movement bug

Postby phocasbyz » February 5th, 2018, 5:58 pm

doofus-01 wrote:I'm seeing this too, on a 1.13.11. I'm having trouble reproducing it reliably, but I can say that flat terrains with an overlay (like the farm-rows) sometimes become impassible to some units. Just reloading the save doesn't seem to change anything, but if you quit to title-screen, hit F5, and then reload, the problem goes away. There were no Lua errors or anything on terminal output..


same for me
it 's not specific to liberty and to the flat farmland
here is an exemple with a dwarf campaign The Hammer of Thursagan and a gryphon bumping over a village or a bridge

but it could come from previous old add-ons, i delete them and will test again
Attachments
gryphon.png
phocasbyz
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 4th, 2018, 12:31 pm

Re: 13.10-dev hex fields movement bug

Postby octalot » February 5th, 2018, 7:08 pm

The bug existed before 2018-01-31T02:00Z. I saw it on the villages in SotA's Training Session (the date comes from the end-of-scenario autosave); and assumed it was part of the scenario as it hadn't affected my flying units.

That means that the bug already existed before the merge of Jyrki's 4685aed6, "Fix #2339: iterating wesnoth.unit_types is extremely slow".
octalot
 
Posts: 91
Joined: July 17th, 2010, 7:40 pm

Re: 13.10-dev hex fields movement bug

Postby phocasbyz » February 7th, 2018, 10:44 pm

hello

after some more tests..
- it is not linked with add-ons
- it is not linked with specific campaign, tile or unit (see the new exemple with merman and village)
- sometimes all player units are blocked on the same hex and sometimes some units type are not blocked by the hex
- it is reproductable. You have to play at least 3 scenariies during the same game session without quiting the game,
- you can save and load game file without effect over the bug. The bug is reset only if you leave the game
- if you start another scenario or campaign during the the game session and the bug has already shown it will come soon in the new scenario


the log show no error

Battle for Wesnoth v1.13.10+dev (7ca5a0df-Clean)
Started on Wed Feb 7 20:46:11 2018

Automatically found a possible data directory at /home/phocas/wesnoth-dev

Data directory: /home/phocas/wesnoth-dev
User configuration directory: /home/phocas/.config/wesnoth
User data directory: /home/phocas/.local/share/wesnoth/1.13
Cache directory: /home/phocas/.cache/wesnoth

Setting mode to 1920x1031
Checking lua scripts... ok


i saw this only once in the last log file

20180207 23:11:17 warning engine: Could not find move_unit_fake route from 15,29 to 5,28: ignoring complexities
Attachments
merman.png
phocasbyz
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 4th, 2018, 12:31 pm

Re: 13.10-dev hex fields movement bug

Postby doofus-01 » February 9th, 2018, 2:27 am

Just to try to narrow it down more, some responses to the observations:
phocasbyz wrote:- it is not linked with specific campaign, tile or unit (see the new exemple with merman and village)
The affected terrains are all overlays, no?
phocasbyz wrote: it is reproductable. You have to play at least 3 scenariies during the same game session without quiting the game,
I've not done that, and I still see the errors.
BfW 1.12 supported, but active development only for BfW 1.13/1.14: Bad Moon Rising | Trinity | Archaic Era |
| Abandoned: Tales of the Setting Sun
GitHub link for these projects
User avatar
doofus-01
Art Contributor
 
Posts: 3607
Joined: January 6th, 2008, 9:27 pm
Location: USA, the civilized part.

Re: 13.10-dev hex fields movement bug

Postby Airatgaljamov » Yesterday, 4:18 pm

phocasbyz wrote:the foodpad unit can move freely accros it and you can see the standard 40% defense
but the highwayman see it as impassable terrain with a red 0% defense
as you can see the highwayman can move over others hexs. it's only the farmland type that blocks him

it is in the liberty campain , scenario 4


I have encountered the same problem. The Liberty campaign, scenario 2, highwayman (senior village elder) cannot move onto village hex. I'm playing on 1.13.11. Problem disappeared after removing addons and reloading save. Are the causes of problem deduced and is there any permanent solution?
Airatgaljamov
 
Posts: 59
Joined: April 12th, 2009, 6:04 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest