1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
User avatar
max_torch
Posts: 281
Joined: July 31st, 2011, 5:54 pm
Location: Cavite, Philippines

1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by max_torch » November 23rd, 2014, 4:20 pm

I haven't seen a thread with this title. Do you guys agree it is a good idea to put all bugs involving MP campaigns in this place first, so we can sort which ones are specific to a campaign and which ones are generally occurring throughout all of them, regardless of whether it is mainline or not?
Note: Windows users were playing the 1.12 package released after Nov. 21
Bugs I have observed:

Both in LoW and Ooze Mini-campaign - I noticed that for the host the names of the enemy leaders are the host's name but for the other players the names of the enemy leaders are correct.
screen1.png
Tested in Mini-ooze campaign - reloading of campaign causes host to have control of all enemies
Actually also happened when we reloaded a game of LoW, but that was during version 1.11.18

Experienced scenario advancement problems in both LoW and Mini-ooze campaign:
When we advance from 1-->2 in LoW, the bonus gold is given twice.
When we exit from 2nd scenario in LoW and go all the way to main menu and then back to the scenario our gold value becomes correct however we are unable to advance from 2-->3 because it says Unkown Scenario 03 Kalian Under Attack.
Advancing from 1-->2 in Mini-ooze campaign caused OOS, and the other player had to quit, but the other player left the main menu, fixed a faulty ifdef line and then rejoined and we were able to play scenario 2 then when we tried to advance from scenario 2-->3 once again the other player had OOS and had to quit and so we stopped there.

Please everyone let's report the bugs that we encounter
Last edited by max_torch on November 25th, 2014, 2:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1091
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by gfgtdf » November 23rd, 2014, 4:30 pm

to fix the wrong names you can try to put unrenamable=yes in the [side]/[unit] tag for the enemy leader
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

kiss
Posts: 124
Joined: July 9th, 2014, 5:50 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by kiss » November 24th, 2014, 5:20 pm

gfgtdf wrote:to fix the wrong names you can try to put unrenamable=yes in the [side]/[unit] tag for the enemy leader
I've tried that today with two clients. I've added unrenamable=yes in the [side] tag on host. It doesn't change anything for LoW.

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1091
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by gfgtdf » November 24th, 2014, 6:06 pm

kiss wrote:
gfgtdf wrote:to fix the wrong names you can try to put unrenamable=yes in the [side]/[unit] tag for the enemy leader
I've tried that today with two clients. I've added unrenamable=yes in the [side] tag on host. It doesn't change anything for LoW.
i just tested exactly that on Low first scenario 2 minures ago and it worked well.

EDIT:
I also tested "Advancing from 1-->2 in Mini-ooze campaign caused OOS" but i could not reproduce.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

User avatar
Ravana
Moderator
Posts: 1854
Joined: January 29th, 2012, 12:49 am
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by Ravana » November 24th, 2014, 6:35 pm

While replicating the Ooze campaign problem I started suspecting that LoW unknown scenario is from same thing, ifdef doesnt look for multiplayer. http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php ... 81#p578081

User avatar
Bob_The_Mighty
Posts: 772
Joined: July 13th, 2006, 1:15 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by Bob_The_Mighty » November 25th, 2014, 2:03 pm

max_torch wrote:Tested in Mini-ooze campaign - reloading of campaign causes host to have control of all enemies.
I have seen this too, in MP campaigns since 1.16.

I just come across two weird things whilst testing out a 1.12 port of my campaign The Altaz Mariners.

1. Previously, setting a side to team_name=1,2 would make it friendly to both sides 1 and 2. Now, it makes them hostile to both. If this is intended, it screws up many things. If not, it's a bad bug for the same reason. (The wiki says: "Sides with the same team_name are allied.")

2. Ending a scenario with endlevel now brings up an interlude game set-up screen (the game release notes mention this new feature.) I can't work why this would be useful, nor how to turn it off. It seems setting next_scenario loads the next scenario straight away, but using endlevel always brings up this interlude set-up screen. This is a bugger for TAM as there's so many quick scenario changes. Is there a key to disable it that has not yet made it onto the wiki? Please.
My current projects:
2p Campaign: The Altaz Mariners
3p Survival: Save The Village

User avatar
tekelili
Posts: 1038
Joined: August 19th, 2009, 9:28 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by tekelili » November 25th, 2014, 2:21 pm

Bob_The_Mighty wrote:
max_torch wrote:Tested in Mini-ooze campaign - reloading of campaign causes host to have control of all enemies.
I have seen this too, in MP campaigns since 1.16.
Yes, I have seen numerous complains about this bug and as version after version it was not solved, I did a report to gna. Even still in 1.12 bug is present and for a developer answer in this forum I deduced he has intended this bug was never reported properly... weird :?

For campaign developers I want advise debug mode can cheat you using different carryover percentage that your scenario has as settings. When I reported this as a bug I was told that behavior was intended... so dont expect any fix and use debug suspiciously :eng:
Be aware English is not my first language and I could have explained bad myself using wrong or just invented words.
World Conquest II

User avatar
iceiceice
Developer
Posts: 1056
Joined: August 23rd, 2013, 2:10 am

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by iceiceice » November 25th, 2014, 2:34 pm

Bob:

There were many changes to the code that sets up games in 1.12. You would have to ask thunderstruck to be sure.

> 2. Ending a scenario with endlevel now brings up an interlude game set-up screen

This can be disabled by putting "allow_new_game = no". The behavior in 1.12 is that if "allow_new_game = yes", then whenever the scenario is transitioned to there will be an interlude with the game setup screen. I think the intention is so that if players want to change the settings / swap which campaign side they are playing or something like this, they can easily do it.

> 1. Previously, setting a side to team_name=1,2 would make it friendly to both sides 1 and 2. Now, it makes them hostile to both.

I never heard of this report before, if you think it's severe enough to block next release then it should go on gna. But, I would want to see the whole scenario to decide if it's a bug.

Edit: One thing that I think would be really good for all mp campaign people to be aware of is that there has been a basic change in what some of the options in the mp create screen do. In 1.10, if you check "use map settings" it affects the first scenario but it doesn't continue to affect your whole campaign. In 1.12 though I *think* that it basically does. Every time a new scenario is started, the side engine is going to do checks against the use_map_settings option you picked when you started the campaign. This sounds reasonable but it's not how it worked in 1.10 and probably none of you are expecting it (I don't remember if it was in release notes, I simply noticed it in the code).

User avatar
Bob_The_Mighty
Posts: 772
Joined: July 13th, 2006, 1:15 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by Bob_The_Mighty » November 27th, 2014, 7:45 am

iceiceice wrote:This can be disabled by putting "allow_new_game = no". The behavior in 1.12 is that if "allow_new_game = yes", then whenever the scenario is transitioned to there will be an interlude with the game setup screen.
Are you sure? I get the interlude even on progressing to maps set to allow_new_game=no. Is it a bug or am I missing something?

I've realised that the other problem I mentioned (sides fighting each other) is related. The UI in the set-up interlude cannot handle multiple team names, so whereas a scenario might define a side's alliances as team_name=1,2 the interlude screen seems to override that and default it to team_name=2.
iceiceice wrote:Edit: One thing that I think would be really good for all mp campaign people to be aware of is that there has been a basic change in what some of the options in the mp create screen do. In 1.10, if you check "use map settings" it affects the first scenario but it doesn't continue to affect your whole campaign. In 1.12 though I *think* that it basically does. Every time a new scenario is started, the side engine is going to do checks against the use_map_settings option you picked when you started the campaign. This sounds reasonable but it's not how it worked in 1.10 and probably none of you are expecting it (I don't remember if it was in release notes, I simply noticed it in the code).
I must say I never noticed that in 1.10. Can you give an example of how it might change things? Since fog and shroud are affected by map settings, surely it doesn't mean a campaign is stuck with the same fog/shroud settings throughout?
My current projects:
2p Campaign: The Altaz Mariners
3p Survival: Save The Village

User avatar
Bob_The_Mighty
Posts: 772
Joined: July 13th, 2006, 1:15 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by Bob_The_Mighty » November 29th, 2014, 12:58 pm

Well, I've reported the above bug/s: https://gna.org/bugs/index.php?23000
My current projects:
2p Campaign: The Altaz Mariners
3p Survival: Save The Village

kiss
Posts: 124
Joined: July 9th, 2014, 5:50 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by kiss » November 29th, 2014, 3:57 pm

gfgtdf wrote:i just tested exactly that on Low first scenario 2 minures ago and it worked well.
Cool, no need to spend more time on that it will be fix with next release.

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1091
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by gfgtdf » November 29th, 2014, 4:21 pm

kiss wrote: Cool, no need to spend more time on that it will be fix with next release.
i tested on 1.12.0, the same relaese that you have.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

kiss
Posts: 124
Joined: July 9th, 2014, 5:50 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by kiss » November 29th, 2014, 5:17 pm

Yep, and?
Sorry, I don't understand, not your words, but ... the idea.

Baryon
Posts: 14
Joined: March 12th, 2014, 1:10 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by Baryon » December 1st, 2014, 8:04 pm

max_torch wrote: Both in LoW and Ooze Mini-campaign - I noticed that for the host the names of the enemy leaders are the host's name but for the other players the names of the enemy leaders are correct.
For me it is more serious still: whenever I reload a MP map, the host actually has control of the enemy sides. This means our game is unplayable. It was working up until we reloaded.
It has happened with LoW and another campaign (Brotherhood of Light), so I assume it will happen with all MP campaigns.
I am on the Linux x64 version, my friend is on Windows and it happened for both of us regardless of who was hosting.

User avatar
Bob_The_Mighty
Posts: 772
Joined: July 13th, 2006, 1:15 pm

Re: 1.12 MP campaigns bugs thread

Post by Bob_The_Mighty » December 3rd, 2014, 12:45 pm

Update:

1. Bug: allow_new_game=no fails to disable the new MP set-up interlude screen.
Status: Debug mode overrides the allow_new_game key, so it works as advertised. My bad.

2. Bug: The MP set-up interlude screen doesn't cater for mixed alliances (e.g. team_name=1,2), which may cause some allies to attack you.
Status: reported, but not fixed.

3. Bug: Reloading causes ai sides to be assigned incorrectly.
Status: reported and confirmed but not fixed.

EDIT:

I've noticed another issue, which may or may not be related to number 3...

4. Bug: In MP games, AI leaders seem to lose their names, defaulting instead to 'Computer Player X'.
Status: I've only just reported it.
My current projects:
2p Campaign: The Altaz Mariners
3p Survival: Save The Village

Post Reply