1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
DoomDevice9
Posts: 4
Joined: November 23rd, 2012, 7:33 pm

1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Post by DoomDevice9 »

1.10.5 Dude where's my words?
Ok so I've been playing Battle For Wesnoth 1.9.2 for ages now since I didn't realize there had been an update, then I got a small bug with an addon and completely reinstalled the game, obviously it didn't fix but that's fine cause I solved that one, but then I had version 1.10.5 which had a huge bug when I started trying to do a lets play of the campaign "Heir to the throne", none of the units had any HP or anything shown (as shown in an image below) so I got a little confused but I didn't really care until, I restarted the game and there was absolutely no words, only buttons with nothing on them, even the version was gone, I tried to reinstall but nothing is working.

I use Windows XP

If I try to go on multiplayer I get an error report however there is no writing so all I can do is click a box and it sends me back to the main menu.

WTF, I would put images but I can't access the links on photobucket they're covered by black boxes, I'll try and fix this and I think Wesnoth might be pissing off my computer ;P but please message if you can think of a sloution or if you're having the same issue.

EDIT: Here's a link to my photobucket library I can't access the image links so this'll have to do.
http://s1277.photobucket.com/albums/can ... ?start=all
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 4498
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: 1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Post by Pentarctagon »

The page you linked to doesn't seem to exist.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
DoomDevice9
Posts: 4
Joined: November 23rd, 2012, 7:33 pm

Re: 1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Post by DoomDevice9 »

It exists for me, I don't know how else I can show everyone.
User avatar
Elvish_Hunter
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1444
Joined: September 4th, 2009, 2:39 pm
Location: Lintanir Forest...

Re: 1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Post by Elvish_Hunter »

Pentarctagon wrote:The page you linked to doesn't seem to exist.
Same for me.
DoomDevice9 wrote:It exists for me, I don't know how else I can show everyone.
If the image isn't too big, attach it directly in your post. Or dump it in some other service, like imagebin.
Current maintainer of these add-ons:
1.14: The Sojournings of Grog, A Rough Life, The White Troll (co-author), Wesnoth Lua Pack
1.12: Children of Dragons
User avatar
GunChleoc
Translator
Posts: 497
Joined: September 28th, 2012, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: 1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Post by GunChleoc »

Photobucket recently reworked their homepage and I have had reports of buttons not working there in Internet Exporer. Empty your browser cache and cookies or try a different browser. Then start from the Photobucket main page, maybe the link to your albums now has a different format.
DoomDevice9
Posts: 4
Joined: November 23rd, 2012, 7:33 pm

Re: 1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Post by DoomDevice9 »

I'll try imagebin, and I'm using Mozilla Firefox with adblocker.

http://imagebin.org/237022

http://imagebin.org/237023

Should work now.
DoomDevice9
Posts: 4
Joined: November 23rd, 2012, 7:33 pm

Re: 1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Post by DoomDevice9 »

Umm, this is closed now, for some reason overnight wesnoth fixed itself.
User avatar
ivanovic
Lord of Translations
Posts: 1147
Joined: September 28th, 2004, 10:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 1.10.5 Dude where's my words?

Post by ivanovic »

Just so that you know the reason behind the problem you observed:
There is a problem with Windows and how it handles the fonts in the game. Because of this the installer asks you to reboot your system after installing Wesnoth. No idea why this is required on Windows systems (at least one some, probably not all), but at least it works. Yes, Windows can be strange like this.
Post Reply