Unit Leveling

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
User avatar
TheScribe
Posts: 465
Joined: June 17th, 2012, 8:17 pm
Location: You won't know till it's too late

Unit Leveling

Post by TheScribe »

A Drake Burner leveled on my opponents turn in an MP game. He automatically went to Fire Drake, I didn't get a choice. This hasn't happened before, nor is it persisting.

I'm running Windows 7.
BfW version 1.10.2
I cannot reproduce the problem.
I attatched my stderr file, though it didn't seem to mention anything about this.
Attachments
stderr.txt
(3.16 KiB) Downloaded 352 times
Sorta on a break from the forums ATM, have been for a while. If I was doing something for/with you and I haven't recently, that's why, I will be back soon hopefully.

Creativity
Posts: 51
Joined: March 5th, 2012, 6:00 pm

Re: Unit Leveling

Post by Creativity »

This isn't a bug. You can't choose what a unit levels to if it levels on your opponent's turn-it's chosen randomly.

User avatar
TheScribe
Posts: 465
Joined: June 17th, 2012, 8:17 pm
Location: You won't know till it's too late

Re: Unit Leveling

Post by TheScribe »

The past says otherwise... (and the present, I just checked)

Thanks anyway.
Sorta on a break from the forums ATM, have been for a while. If I was doing something for/with you and I haven't recently, that's why, I will be back soon hopefully.

Max
Posts: 1449
Joined: April 13th, 2008, 12:41 am

Re: Unit Leveling

Post by Max »

i'm really sure it's been that way ever since.
http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?t=8552

it's multiplayer specific. you get to choose in campaigns...

User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9740
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Unit Leveling

Post by zookeeper »

Max wrote:it's multiplayer specific.
And more specifically, specific to networked multiplayer. Local players advancing on each others' turns always get to choose.

User avatar
TheScribe
Posts: 465
Joined: June 17th, 2012, 8:17 pm
Location: You won't know till it's too late

Re: Unit Leveling

Post by TheScribe »

That would explain some things... (I generally play local games)

Though personally, I don't like that, it pretty much cost me the game.

Well, thanks for telling me. I'll keep that in mind.
Sorta on a break from the forums ATM, have been for a while. If I was doing something for/with you and I haven't recently, that's why, I will be back soon hopefully.

joshudson
Posts: 501
Joined: January 17th, 2006, 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Unit Leveling

Post by joshudson »

Incidentally, If you are host on a network multilayer game and your unit levels during AI turn, you get to choose.
CHKDSK has repaired bad sectors in CHKDSK.EXE

User avatar
Gambit
Loose Screw
Posts: 3266
Joined: August 13th, 2008, 3:00 pm
Location: Dynamica
Contact:

Re: Unit Leveling

Post by Gambit »

Well now that part sounds kind of screwy and unbalanced. The host should be as screwed over as everyone else.

JaMiT
Developer
Posts: 511
Joined: January 22nd, 2012, 12:38 am

Re: Unit Leveling

Post by JaMiT »

I had asked about this back in September because it seemed like a possible bug, but no one showed any interest in testing it out. So there is in fact different behavior for the host. The remaining question I see is which is right -- the host getting to choose (so everyone should be able to choose) or the others not getting to choose (so the host should not either)?

Post Reply