Win7 Switched window no sound

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
hkwh01
Posts: 26
Joined: June 1st, 2012, 11:48 pm

Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by hkwh01 » June 6th, 2012, 8:31 am

While it is not my turn, I usually switch to another window to browse websites, in windows 7, I can't hear in-game sound and bell ring as I am browsing website,and made me always missed my turn.Someone else have the similar problem, do I need to set something win 7?
When I am using MAC, I can hear the sound even I switched out from game, so anybody help with windows 7?

Max
Posts: 1449
Joined: April 13th, 2008, 12:41 am

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by Max » June 6th, 2012, 10:09 am


hkwh01
Posts: 26
Joined: June 1st, 2012, 11:48 pm

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by hkwh01 » June 6th, 2012, 10:15 am

so what's the solution please?

User avatar
Crendgrim
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 1328
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by Crendgrim » June 6th, 2012, 10:38 am

Closing Steam, probably.
If that does not help, it is not necessarily related to that thread.

Moved to technical support.
UMC Story Images — Story images for your campaign!

hkwh01
Posts: 26
Joined: June 1st, 2012, 11:48 pm

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by hkwh01 » June 6th, 2012, 12:00 pm

Closed Steam,still doesn't work
I tried to disabled win 7 theme , doesn't work too.
everytime I click my desktop/any browser the wesnoth music gone,sounds gone

Max
Posts: 1449
Joined: April 13th, 2008, 12:41 am

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by Max » June 6th, 2012, 1:04 pm

what does the sound mixer show as volume for wesnoth (when it's muted)?
http://shanestyle.hubpages.com/hub/Wind ... al-Control

there's also an option to automatically mute sound for ongoing calls:
http://helpdeskgeek.com/how-to/mute-sou ... one-calls/

maybe there's an app that doesn't behave as it should.

does it only happen in fullscreen mode or also when wesnoth is running in a window and it looses focus?
does this happen for other apps as well or just wesnoth?

hkwh01
Posts: 26
Joined: June 1st, 2012, 11:48 pm

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by hkwh01 » June 6th, 2012, 2:13 pm

The mixer show nothing when wesnoth lose focus, sound gone
I have ticked 'do nothing'.
either window mode or fullscreen doesn't work
it is win 7 64 bit, I don't know if it is related, tried disable theme,xp compatibilty, not working.
I use foobar2000, it don't have problem, song playing at background, while not in focus

User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
Posts: 3907
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by Pentarctagon » June 6th, 2012, 4:31 pm

It would be interesting to know if this started with with 1.10.2+ as it did with me or not. What version are you using anyway?
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

hkwh01
Posts: 26
Joined: June 1st, 2012, 11:48 pm

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by hkwh01 » June 7th, 2012, 2:46 am

latest one

Max
Posts: 1449
Joined: April 13th, 2008, 12:41 am

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by Max » June 7th, 2012, 3:20 am

hkwh01 wrote:The mixer show nothing when wesnoth lose focus, sound gone
does that mean wesnoth isn't listed there or that the volume is down?

User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
Posts: 3907
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by Pentarctagon » June 9th, 2012, 8:04 am

hkwh01 wrote:latest one
Would you be able to download 1.10.1 or 1.10.0 and see if the problem persists there?
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

User avatar
loonycyborg
Windows Packager
Posts: 273
Joined: April 1st, 2008, 4:45 pm
Location: Russia/Moscow

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by loonycyborg » June 9th, 2012, 8:57 am

There is a possibility that it was caused by SDL update. You can also try older SDL version: http://www.libsdl.org/release/SDL-1.2.12-win32.zip, just replace SDL.dll from wesnoth's install dir with SDL.dll from this zip.
"meh." - zookeeper

User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
Posts: 3907
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by Pentarctagon » June 9th, 2012, 1:31 pm

That fixed my problem! Though the SDL version you posted did not fix it, it was fixed when I took the SDL.dll from my 1.10.1 directory and put it in my 1.10.3 directory. There was a big size difference too. Yours was 313 KB, the one in my 1.10.1 directory was 1.6 MB.
Attachments
SDL.zip
(479.17 KiB) Downloaded 154 times
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

User avatar
loonycyborg
Windows Packager
Posts: 273
Joined: April 1st, 2008, 4:45 pm
Location: Russia/Moscow

Re: Win7 Switched window no sound

Post by loonycyborg » June 10th, 2012, 6:07 pm

iirc I've built that one from the source myself. I guess I'll try building 1.2.15 too next time instead of using their pre-built binaries.
"meh." - zookeeper

Post Reply