bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
User avatar
NurlorVoronwe
Posts: 26
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 5:45 pm
Location: Colombia

bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by NurlorVoronwe » April 10th, 2010, 2:29 pm

hi
i have Vista and wesnoth 1.8. When i try to save a map, or trying to apply a mask, an error message appears, then wesnoth stop working. I attached a image with the message.

p.s. What use is to apply a mask?
Attachments
bug.jpg
Nûrlor Voronwë

--II Punic War for Battle for Wesnoth! *Coming soon*
Parts of the storyline here

ilor
Inactive Developer
Posts: 129
Joined: March 24th, 2008, 9:05 pm

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by ilor » April 13th, 2010, 7:18 pm

Do you have any non-ascii characters (non-english) in your windows login name and/or the path where Wesnoth is and/or looks for maps?

User avatar
NurlorVoronwe
Posts: 26
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 5:45 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by NurlorVoronwe » April 29th, 2010, 6:38 pm

sorry for the delay of my answer, but i have lots of things to do...
anyway, my windows login name dont have any non-ascii characters, it have a parenthesis, and accent, (andrés), and the other stuff is normal.... i havent done any modifications to the original folders of the game
Nûrlor Voronwë

--II Punic War for Battle for Wesnoth! *Coming soon*
Parts of the storyline here

AI
Developer
Posts: 2394
Joined: January 31st, 2008, 8:38 pm

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by AI » May 1st, 2010, 12:25 am

The accent is non-ascii. You've just run into bug #13926 [Gna.org]. (or at least the underlying cause)

There should be a switch to make wesnoth save your files in a different directory, to work around this bug.

User avatar
NurlorVoronwe
Posts: 26
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 5:45 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by NurlorVoronwe » May 6th, 2010, 4:00 am

try changing my login name, but the same happens, i dont know if it would help me
AI wrote:There should be a switch to make wesnoth save your files in a different
directory, to work around this bug.
How can i change the directory? because the editor stop working when i click in "save file"
Nûrlor Voronwë

--II Punic War for Battle for Wesnoth! *Coming soon*
Parts of the storyline here

AI
Developer
Posts: 2394
Joined: January 31st, 2008, 8:38 pm

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by AI » May 11th, 2010, 3:47 pm

Right-click the shortcut you're using to start wesnoth, then, add to the end of it: (with a space prepended)

Code: Select all

--config-dir C:/some/directory/without/spaces/or/special/characters
You will have to copy your userdata files to that directory though, as you've just relocated it.

SlowThinker
Posts: 876
Joined: November 28th, 2008, 6:18 pm

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by SlowThinker » January 2nd, 2012, 4:10 pm

I thought somebody told me this bug was corrected in 1.9, but it still exists with 1.9.13: spaces are not allowed in the path.
(Win XP Pro)
Last edited by SlowThinker on January 2nd, 2012, 7:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
I work on Conquest Minus • I use DFoolWide, Retro Terrain Package and the add-on 'High Contrast Water'
I moved to Nosebane's corner (Doc Paterson's signature); I am spending my time there, so PM me if I don't answer your post in forums

User avatar
vultraz
Community Manager
Posts: 953
Joined: February 7th, 2011, 12:51 pm
Location: Dodging Daleks

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by vultraz » January 2nd, 2012, 4:24 pm

It's probably fixed on 1.9.4+. Plus 1.9.3 is like...horribly outdated. We're in 1.9.13 now ;) hehehehe

(unless you meant 1.9.13, and that was a typo?)
Creator of Shadows of Deception (for 1.12) and co-creator of the Era of Chaos (for 1.12/1.13).
SurvivalXtreme rocks!!!
What happens when you get scared half to death...twice?

SlowThinker
Posts: 876
Joined: November 28th, 2008, 6:18 pm

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by SlowThinker » January 2nd, 2012, 4:30 pm

I am sorry, it was a typo: with 1.9.13 I can't have a space in the path.

User avatar
vultraz
Community Manager
Posts: 953
Joined: February 7th, 2011, 12:51 pm
Location: Dodging Daleks

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by vultraz » January 2nd, 2012, 6:44 pm

Ah...ok ;) Sorry
Creator of Shadows of Deception (for 1.12) and co-creator of the Era of Chaos (for 1.12/1.13).
SurvivalXtreme rocks!!!
What happens when you get scared half to death...twice?

SlowThinker
Posts: 876
Joined: November 28th, 2008, 6:18 pm

Re: bug in map editor-wesnoth 1.8

Post by SlowThinker » January 3rd, 2012, 1:27 am

I just followed the link to gnu.org that AI provided above, and it looks the editor and the main game use completely different file services, and none of them is good enough (at least that is my interpretation of the bugzilla's debate, I am a bit confused by it) and so the bug handling has been postponed to 1.10.
I work on Conquest Minus • I use DFoolWide, Retro Terrain Package and the add-on 'High Contrast Water'
I moved to Nosebane's corner (Doc Paterson's signature); I am spending my time there, so PM me if I don't answer your post in forums

Post Reply