Theme Issues

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Pligon

Theme Issues

Post by Pligon »

I'm new to the game, and i was looking around in the Preferences window... and I saw the 'Themes' button. When I clicked it, it said there were no themes available, to try in a game. I did just that, ( i started a game, and tried the 'Themes'), and picked one that sounded interesting (don't remember which, sorry...). When I did, it said the effects will occur when i start the next game, so i quit and started over, and now i am in a perpetual loop of the game crashing when i start it up... Is there any way to fix this problem?

By the way, I am running Ubuntu 8.04
zookeeper
WML Wizard

Re: Theme Issues

Post by zookeeper »

Open the ~/.wesnoth/preferences file, find the theme= line and change it back to:

theme="Default"

Or just delete the file and restart the game if you don't mind setting all preferences again.

Generally, only the default theme is actually maintained properly. I don't think there's anything very interesting to see in the other ones, and as you've noticed, they're probably a bit buggy too. ;)
Pligon

Post by Pligon »

Can you be a little more specific of which file to edit, please... i found one called Preferences.hpp, Preferences.cpp, Game_Preferences.hpp(and cpp), Game_Preferences_Display.hpp(and cpp)... I don't mean to sound a little rude... i just would like to know which one to change/delete before i go and mess everything up... But, thanks for the reply.
zookeeper
WML Wizard

Post by zookeeper »

Pligon wrote:Can you be a little more specific of which file to edit, please...
There should be a directory named .wesnoth in your home directory. The preferences file is in there.
Pligon

Post by Pligon »

Yeah, I know what you mean, its just that there is no preference file in there...
Mist