Server problems

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
LdV
Posts: 1
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 5:39 pm

Server problems

Post by LdV »

Hey,
I've read that the server can act up from time to time cuz of the playerload. I keep trying logging on to the official server. The thing is, I get in, but then immediatly get disconnected. Friends of mine living outside my country have no problems logging in. Could it be anything local or with my connection?
Thanks.
Shinsei
Posts: 5
Joined: May 1st, 2008, 6:24 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by Shinsei »

I'm from the same country as LdV (Israel, by the way) and pretty much the same problem, the login is stuck on "Reading from server" for a very long time and when it finally passes through it disconnects almost immediately, we have different ISP's and we both have TCP ports 14999 and 15000 open.

If anyone have/had a similar problem or has any idea how/why this would happen, we'd appreciate any help in the matter.


Edit:
I should probably mention that the problem occurs on the alternate servers as well, not only on the official one.
Fosprey
Posts: 254
Joined: January 25th, 2008, 8:13 am

Re: Server problems

Post by Fosprey »

A friend of mine have exactly the same rpoblem and he lives in argentina
Tyna
Posts: 1
Joined: May 9th, 2008, 1:53 am

Re: Server problems

Post by Tyna »

Hey, I'm having server problems tonight. I just can't plain join either the official server or the normal server.
nataS
Posts: 166
Joined: January 28th, 2008, 3:21 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by nataS »

The official server was down for a short time.

If that is the case you can try to connect to the alternate tuxfamily server.
Image
Click "Multiplayer" and then choose "Connect to Server"

Image
Now you can connect to the tuxfamily server.

If the tuxfamily server doesn't connect either, it is likely you are having firewall or other local networking issues. Make sure Wesnoth is allowed to connect to the internet in your firewall. You can try to disable your firewall, but some of them (Norton and McAfee among others) will still prevent programs that are not in the "allow list" to make an outside connection. So be sure Wesnoth is in the "allow list" of your firewall, especially after upgrading to a new version of Wesnoth this is likely to be the issue.

When you need more help, or want to know if there are others having issues connecting to the server, you can always hop by on #wesnoth at the IRC freenode network (irc.freenode.net).
Shinsei
Posts: 5
Joined: May 1st, 2008, 6:24 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by Shinsei »

As previously said, can't connect to either official or other 2 servers that are always on the list, I've ran a server myself and LdV was able to join and vice versa, Havn't tried the tux might get to it, but one way or another, the problems aren't on the machine.
AI
Developer
Posts: 2394
Joined: January 31st, 2008, 8:38 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by AI »

Sounds like a router or hardware firewall is blocking the connections out of your lan.
Shinsei
Posts: 5
Joined: May 1st, 2008, 6:24 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by Shinsei »

AI wrote:Sounds like a router or hardware firewall is blocking the connections out of your lan.

We have connected each other through the internet, not LAN, and I have no problems with other online games, just wesnoth.
nataS
Posts: 166
Joined: January 28th, 2008, 3:21 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by nataS »

I disagree with you on the point that the issue can not be on your machine/system. Hundreds of people are playing wesnoth every day, and for those few that reported connection issues it has always been because 1) the server was down for a short time or 2) Wesnoth was not allowed to access the internet on their firewall.

Being able to host a game via wesnothd doesn't mean wesnoth itself has internet access in your firewall. Even if it's not your firewall there can be other local issues on your system/machine. For example, your brother/sister/mother/father/dog or a virus could have inserted a blockade in your hosts file.

Anyway, can you provide some information so we can properly help you?

1) Your version of Wesnoth
2) Your operating system
3) A conclusive answer on if you can connect to the tuxfamily server or not
4) What kind of firewall you use and if the wesnoth executable you use is allowed to access the internet
5) Information about your local networking infrastructure
6) Since (or if) you have a LAN, can you connect to the official server when installing Wesnoth on one of the other machines?
7) If your friend hosts a game instead, can you connect to it?
8) The results of a traceroute/tracert to 64.194.65.82 (official server) and 213.161.203.24 (tuxfamily optional)
9) The contents of your hosts file
Shinsei
Posts: 5
Joined: May 1st, 2008, 6:24 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by Shinsei »

nataS wrote:I disagree with you on the point that the issue can not be on your machine/system. Hundreds of people are playing wesnoth every day, and for those few that reported connection issues it has always been because 1) the server was down for a short time or 2) Wesnoth was not allowed to access the internet on their firewall.

Being able to host a game via wesnothd doesn't mean wesnoth itself has internet access in your firewall. Even if it's not your firewall there can be other local issues on your system/machine. For example, your brother/sister/mother/father/dog or a virus could have inserted a blockade in your hosts file.

Anyway, can you provide some information so we can properly help you?

1) Your version of Wesnoth
2) Your operating system
3) A conclusive answer on if you can connect to the tuxfamily server or not
4) What kind of firewall you use and if the wesnoth executable you use is allowed to access the internet
5) Information about your local networking infrastructure
6) Since (or if) you have a LAN, can you connect to the official server when installing Wesnoth on one of the other machines?
7) If your friend hosts a game instead, can you connect to it?
8) The results of a traceroute/tracert to 64.194.65.82 (official server) and 213.161.203.24 (tuxfamily optional)
9) The contents of your hosts file


1) 1.4.1
2)Windows XP Professional SP3
3)Can't
4)I use no firewall (shocking aint it)
5)Wireless LAN, connected through Dynalink 1025W ADSL Router
6)sadly, not practical for me to check right now, but LdV is experiencing the same problems and he connects without a LAN
7)Yes, and he can connect to me, neither of us can connect to the official/alternate servers
8)
Tracing route to 64-194-65-82.101netlink.com [64.194.65.82]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms
2 18 ms 15 ms 15 ms
3 17 ms 16 ms 15 ms
4 292 ms 45 ms 26 ms
5 86 ms 87 ms 86 ms

6 109 ms 112 ms 106 ms 77.67.61.193
7 200 ms 196 ms 199 ms xe-1-0-0.nyc30.ip.tiscali.net [89.149.187.66]
8 162 ms 163 ms 161 ms Te-3-4.car3.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.110.77]
9 162 ms 163 ms 163 ms ae-22-79.car2.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.16.68]
10 161 ms 161 ms 159 ms te-4-3-70.nycmny2wch010.wcg.Level3.net [4.68.110
.18]
11 166 ms 161 ms 162 ms 64.200.249.153
12 177 ms 178 ms 177 ms brvwil1wcx3-pos0-0-oc192.wcg.net [64.200.240.253
]
13 214 ms 211 ms 212 ms dnvrco1wcx3-pos13-0-oc192.wcg.net [64.200.240.12
1]
14 239 ms 239 ms 239 ms sntcca1wcx2-pos14-0.wcg.net [64.200.240.182]
15 229 ms 228 ms 227 ms snfcca1wcx2-pos6-0.wcg.net [64.200.210.213]
16 234 ms 236 ms 234 ms 64.200.40.138
17 255 ms 256 ms 255 ms 64-194-65-10.101netlink.com [64.194.65.10]
18 236 ms 236 ms 238 ms 64-194-64-14.101netlink.com [64.194.64.14]
19 259 ms 257 ms 256 ms 64-194-65-82.101netlink.com [64.194.65.82]
20 258 ms 257 ms 258 ms 64-194-65-82.101netlink.com [64.194.65.82]

Trace complete.


Tracing route to 64-194-65-82.101netlink.com [64.194.65.82]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms
2 18 ms 15 ms 15 ms
3 17 ms 16 ms 15 ms
4 292 ms 45 ms 26 ms
5 86 ms 87 ms 86 ms

6 109 ms 112 ms 106 ms 77.67.61.193
7 200 ms 196 ms 199 ms xe-1-0-0.nyc30.ip.tiscali.net [89.149.187.66]
8 162 ms 163 ms 161 ms Te-3-4.car3.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.110.77]
9 162 ms 163 ms 163 ms ae-22-79.car2.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.16.68]
10 161 ms 161 ms 159 ms te-4-3-70.nycmny2wch010.wcg.Level3.net [4.68.110
.18]
11 166 ms 161 ms 162 ms 64.200.249.153
12 177 ms 178 ms 177 ms brvwil1wcx3-pos0-0-oc192.wcg.net [64.200.240.253
]
13 214 ms 211 ms 212 ms dnvrco1wcx3-pos13-0-oc192.wcg.net [64.200.240.12
1]
14 239 ms 239 ms 239 ms sntcca1wcx2-pos14-0.wcg.net [64.200.240.182]
15 229 ms 228 ms 227 ms snfcca1wcx2-pos6-0.wcg.net [64.200.210.213]
16 234 ms 236 ms 234 ms 64.200.40.138
17 255 ms 256 ms 255 ms 64-194-65-10.101netlink.com [64.194.65.10]
18 236 ms 236 ms 238 ms 64-194-64-14.101netlink.com [64.194.64.14]
19 259 ms 257 ms 256 ms 64-194-65-82.101netlink.com [64.194.65.82]
20 258 ms 257 ms 258 ms 64-194-65-82.101netlink.com [64.194.65.82]

Trace complete.
(removed lines involve my lan and isp, thank you)

9) my hosts file contains nothing except 1.0.0.127 local host


I'm at the point when I think it's a dead end for me perhaps because of living in israel/being far from servers or what not, my and LdV also use different ISP's, but if you can think of a solution, I'd really enjoy being able to play wesnoth online properly.
nataS
Posts: 166
Joined: January 28th, 2008, 3:21 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by nataS »

Thanks for your detailed information. First thing that comes to mind for me is that Windows XP SP3 does have a firewall. And while SP3 isn't even enrolled yet I already found one complaint about the firewall continuing to operate even if disabled. Can you verify the Wesnoth executable you're running is in the allow list of the firewall? I hope that solves the issue.
Shinsei
Posts: 5
Joined: May 1st, 2008, 6:24 pm

Re: Server problems

Post by Shinsei »

nataS wrote:Thanks for your detailed information. First thing that comes to mind for me is that Windows XP SP3 does have a firewall. And while SP3 isn't even enrolled yet I already found one complaint about the firewall continuing to operate even if disabled. Can you verify the Wesnoth executable you're running is in the allow list of the firewall? I hope that solves the issue.

checked and double checked, it's fine, but either way, I'm an idiot, should have mentioned that the problem was going on at SP2 as well.

My friend is using Vista Ultimate by the way, firewall activated and set to let wesnoth do as it likes (no LAN as said before) though he may soon try it on a mac powerbook.
Post Reply