Unable to play

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
Kollle
Posts: 73
Joined: December 4th, 2005, 5:16 am
Location: Marooned on an ice floe...

Unable to play

Post by Kollle »

Sorry is this has been posted before, I searched, but found nothing like it.

Anyways, for no apparent reason, I cannot play multiplayer games on 1.1.1/1.1.2 (1.0.2 works fine though). Everything was working fine, until one day I tried downloading the Taki+Imperial era (note that because I couldn't download it properly, I went to this site:http://wolff.to/campaigns/list.html to get it). Immediatly after that, anything under the "Multiplayer" option simply freezes the game, though I can still use campaigns and saved games.

I tried deleting the era and downloading 1.1.2, but that doesn't help. Anyone know what I can do? Thanks in advance.

kiet
Posts: 155
Joined: February 11th, 2006, 6:56 pm
Location: Sweden,Kungsor
Contact:

Post by kiet »

Same here

User avatar
Kestenvarn
Inactive Developer
Posts: 1307
Joined: August 19th, 2005, 7:30 pm
Contact:

Post by Kestenvarn »

I downloaded that era myself yesterday... I don't seem to have any problems, but I haven't played it yet either.

kiet
Posts: 155
Joined: February 11th, 2006, 6:56 pm
Location: Sweden,Kungsor
Contact:

Post by kiet »

I didnt have a problem when downloading Imperial Era,but when I downloaded Roze and Noygas maps on the campaign list.Don´t know which of them that caused it but I deleted them both.

Tippsey
Posts: 226
Joined: May 19th, 2005, 4:41 am

Post by Tippsey »

Noyga's was doing it. I had roze's for a while but every time I got noygas the multiplayer wouldn't start up, the game just froze.
May the drakes bloody kill you all.

Soliton
Site Administrator
Posts: 1605
Joined: April 5th, 2005, 3:25 pm
Location: #wesnoth-mp

Re: Unable to play

Post by Soliton »

Kollle wrote:Anyways, for no apparent reason, I cannot play multiplayer games on 1.1.1/1.1.2 (1.0.2 works fine though). Everything was working fine, until one day I tried downloading the Taki+Imperial era (note that because I couldn't download it properly, I went to this site:http://wolff.to/campaigns/list.html to get it).
That site is for the stable version.
"If gameplay requires it, they can be made to live on Venus." -- scott

Kollle
Posts: 73
Joined: December 4th, 2005, 5:16 am
Location: Marooned on an ice floe...

Re: Unable to play

Post by Kollle »

Soliton wrote: That site is for the stable version.
Oh, whoops.

Thanks for the responses though, because now I realise that I had downloaded Noyga's maps too. That was a while ago though, so I never really linked it with the screw-up.

User avatar
Noyga
Inactive Developer
Posts: 1790
Joined: September 26th, 2005, 5:56 pm
Location: France

Post by Noyga »

Well there is a scenario in a pack that use a huge amount of preprocessor ressources each time you update something. It does not freeze but it takes long to update the multiplayer cache (something like 5-10 minutes on my machine).
Once this is done you won't have problem unitl you install something else that affect multiplayer : the game will not have to rebuild its cache so it will be fast.

I disabled this scenario (The random invasion scenario), but someone wanted it back, so i put it back.
Well i haven't found why it is soo much CPU intensive and how to fix it, so disabled it again.
So the lastest version of my pack shouldn't cause this problem.
If you still have my pack installed update it, it should remove your problem.

If someone wants is back, just remove the - in its filename :
Pack_Noyga/scenarios/random_invasion.cfg-
But then it shall eat your CPU each time you update the multiplayer cahce (ie install something that is MP-related).
This one eats a little the CPU but seems reasonable so i didn't disabled it :
Pack_Noyga/scenarios/random_map.cfg-
(it's my random map generator without the invasion stuff).

User avatar
Kestenvarn
Inactive Developer
Posts: 1307
Joined: August 19th, 2005, 7:30 pm
Contact:

Post by Kestenvarn »

Oops, I didn't read this thread after my last post and accidentally downloaded Noyga's maps myself a few minutes ago, on a whim! Now my game freezes every time I try logging into the multiplayer server, deleting the folders seems to have no effect...

Edit: Ah good, working now. Was freaking out when deleting didn't help.

Kollle
Posts: 73
Joined: December 4th, 2005, 5:16 am
Location: Marooned on an ice floe...

Post by Kollle »

Thanks, that did work.

Post Reply