[Historical] Legend of Wesmere (add-on version)

This is the place for discussing development of mainline campaigns, reporting bugs in them and providing overall feedback.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Locked
User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by santi » September 17th, 2008, 11:39 am

Yes, I thought so and it looks like a god way to balance. It does not have to be 1.5 for all scenaria. and we should probably add some safety WML to make sure we do not get a crash if the player wants to jump to a particular scenario without having played the previous one. In fact this looks like a general good trick for any campaign.

fabi
Developer
Posts: 1223
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by fabi » September 17th, 2008, 12:49 pm

santi wrote:Yes, I thought so and it looks like a god way to balance. It does not have to be 1.5 for all scenaria. and we should probably add some safety WML to make sure we do not get a crash if the player wants to jump to a particular scenario without having played the previous one. In fact this looks like a general good trick for any campaign.
I am already trying to make sure that going through the scenarios with :n in debug mode works.
Jumping to a particular scenario with everything working well is harder.
I will have a look at it.

Which scenarios don't work when you jump into them?

Fabi

User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by santi » September 17th, 2008, 1:27 pm

No complaints (yet), the point is that right now the gold is hardcoded.
If we change that and then jump, it would have an initially undefined gold for the player's side and hence also for the enemy.
I think it grabs the default gold in that case, but I have not checked it. There should not be a problem

AI
Developer
Posts: 2394
Joined: January 31st, 2008, 8:38 pm

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by AI » September 17th, 2008, 1:48 pm

In trunk, there's a :cl command that will show you a list of all scenarios.

fabi
Developer
Posts: 1223
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by fabi » September 17th, 2008, 6:30 pm

Playtesters of Legend of Wesmere should start Wesnoth with the commandline:

Code: Select all

wesnoth --debug --log-info=notifs
to gain debug output on the commandline.

Greetings, Fabi

User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by santi » September 17th, 2008, 9:19 pm

yes, but that does not help too much:
wesnoth --debug --log-info=notifs
Battle for Wesnoth v1.5.4
Started on Thu Sep 18 00:10:04 2008

Data at '/usr/share/share/wesnoth'
Checking video mode: 871x682x32...
setting mode to 871x682x32
20080918 00:11:17 error config: Unit with -2 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage calculations
20080918 00:11:17 error config: Unit with -2 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage cal

fabi
Developer
Posts: 1223
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by fabi » September 17th, 2008, 9:28 pm

santi wrote:yes, but that does not help too much:
wesnoth --debug --log-info=notifs
Battle for Wesnoth v1.5.4
Started on Thu Sep 18 00:10:04 2008

Data at '/usr/share/share/wesnoth'
Checking video mode: 871x682x32...
setting mode to 871x682x32
20080918 00:11:17 error config: Unit with -2 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage calculations
20080918 00:11:17 error config: Unit with -2 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage cal
Can you go in more detail when that error appears?

The "--log-info=notifs" is for debug output that is coded in wml by me, not for engine output.

Fabi

fabi
Developer
Posts: 1223
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Release version 1.5.7

Post by fabi » September 18th, 2008, 4:23 pm

New release on the add-on server of wesnoth 1.5.x

This release adds support for debugging the campaign with :choose_level , :n and
by direct start of a level with first_scenario= .

Enjoy.

User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by santi » September 18th, 2008, 7:30 pm

Ok, some more debugging info:

1) Scenario 6(Aquaintance in need)
We get:
Deprecated WML found: Trying to recruit a: scout but no unit of that type (usage=) is available. Check the recruit and [ai] recruitment_pattern keys for this side against the usage key of the units in question! Removing invalid recruitment_pattern entry and continuing...
Apparently happens when the dwarves get to recruit( dwarves do not have scouts)
;however, there is no such recruitment pattern:
recruitment_pattern=fighter,fighter,mixed fighter
So this looks weird. It could refer to the orcs, who have a scout in their recruitment pattern
if the Wolf Rider, Golbin knights and Pillagers are no longer scouts
Else, could it be a WML issue?

2) We get:
20080918 21:36:19 error config: Unit with -4 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage calculations
20080918 21:36:19 error config: Unit with -4 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage calculations
20080918 21:36:55 error config: Unit with -3 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage calculations
This happens in a fight for example, when a unit dies.
But that does not seem to be the only explanation, as about 2 or 3 such messages per death are generated

3)
20080918 21:40:21 error ai: AI tried to skirmish with non-skirmisher
Ok, this appears to happen when a wolf rider/goblin knight has to decide what to do. Anyone know about it?
Last edited by santi on September 18th, 2008, 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fabi
Developer
Posts: 1223
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by fabi » September 18th, 2008, 8:19 pm

santi wrote:Ok, some more debugging info:

1) Scenario 6(Aquaintance in need)
We get:
Deprecated WML found: Trying to recruit a: scout but no unit of that type (usage=) is available. Check the recruit and [ai] recruitment_pattern keys for this side against the usage key of the units in question! Removing invalid recruitment_pattern entry and continuing...
Apparently happens when the dwarves get to recruit( dwarves do not have scouts)
;however, there is no such recruitment pattern:
recruitment_pattern=fighter,fighter,mixed fighter
So this looks weird. It could refer to the orcs, who have a scout in their recruitment pattern
if the Wolf Rider, Golbin knights and Pillagers are no longer scouts
Else, could it be a WML issue?
This is only a warning, and it was a false one. The developers fixed that for 1.5.5, it's not our problem.
santi wrote: 2) We get:
20080918 21:36:19 error config: Unit with -4 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage calculations
20080918 21:36:19 error config: Unit with -4 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage calculations
20080918 21:36:55 error config: Unit with -3 hitpoints found, set to 0 for damage calculations
This happens in a fight for example, when a unit dies.
But that does not seem to be the only explanation, as about 2 or 3 such messages per death are generated


3)
20080918 21:40:21 error ai: AI tried to skirmish with non-skirmisher
Ok, I have not tracked this in detail. Anyone know about it?
For the last 2 issues I assume the same as for the first one.
This is something that concerns the core developers. I don't believe it has anything to do with LOW.
Remember, our target is a development version.

Greetings, Fabi

User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by santi » September 18th, 2008, 8:35 pm

ok, in scenario 7, why did you take out the option "defeat Grubr"? (the only one there is a chance)
Also, there is a default "defeat Urug-Pir" option, so that Galtrid on the very first command says so(I'm alredy defeating Urug-Pir). he should probably say(I'm already attacking Urug-Pir)

fabi
Developer
Posts: 1223
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by fabi » September 18th, 2008, 8:42 pm

santi wrote:ok, in scenario 7, why did you take out the option "defeat Grubr"? (the only one there is a chance)
Also, there is a default "defeat Urug-Pir" option, so that Galtrid on the very first command says so(I'm alredy defeating Urug-Pir). he should probably say(I'm already attacking Urug-Pir)
I messed with the sides to fit the new several scenarios one map concept.
It's a matter of telling the ai_controller who is a friend and who is an enemy.
I will try to find an automatism for that.

The second one is a language issue, or did I get you wrong?

Fabi

User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by santi » September 18th, 2008, 8:56 pm

Yes, you can say language in the sense it uses the wrong expression.

Plus, I think users may be not exactly getting what they think when they give the orders

Another issue with maps: We should find a more elvish-looking name for the river in the Kalian than "foobar" :)

fabi
Developer
Posts: 1223
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by fabi » September 18th, 2008, 9:24 pm

santi wrote:Yes, you can say language in the sense it uses the wrong expression.

Plus, I think users may be not exactly getting what they think when they give the orders

Another issue with maps: We should find a more elvish-looking name for the river in the Kalian than "foobar" :)
Agreed :lol2:

User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Re: Legend of Wesmere-Elvish(Kalenz) Campaign

Post by santi » September 20th, 2008, 9:21 am

Couple more issues:
1) In ELves Last Stand, when El'Isomithir dies, instead of him asking Kalenz about orders,
now it is Andulias who asks in the place of El'Isomithir. I had fixed this in previous versions
but somehow this fix did not make it?
2) In Bounty Hunters, the sea creatures are a) two few(3 instead of 5),
b) too concentrated(in the same upper right hand corner) and
c) not aggressive

I am progressing with playtesting now. So far it is quite playable

Locked