Campaign Story Planning/Lore help

For writers working on documentation, story prose, announcements, and all kinds of Wesnoth text.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Osnil

Campaign Story Planning/Lore help

Post by Osnil »

I am not new to Wesnoth, but I am new to creating campaigns.

The premise will start with control of a city under attack by Drakes and Dragons, which you will lose. Basically, you and your new renegade Drake friend escape captivity and vow to rescue the city. I don't know how long to drag the story on for.

My reason for using Drakes is because they are rarely used in Wesnoth. Now, I haven't decided to use mainline Wesnoth, or my own world for my campaign.

I'm going to need help knowing several things from you Level 5 Wesnoth Geeks:
1. Which area of Wesnoth would be best for a Full Scale Drake Invasion?
2. What underused races/units would be amazing to use?
3. How many Isle of the Damned side missions should be employed? And which factions should be employed in those?
4. How many major heroes should I have?
5. How do I make it a fun, interesting campaign without copycatting other campaign plot elements?
zookeeper
WML Wizard

Re: Campaign Story Planning/Lore help

Post by zookeeper »

Osnil wrote:I am not new to Wesnoth, but I am new to creating campaigns.

The premise will start with control of a city under attack by Drakes and Dragons, which you will lose. Basically, you and your new renegade Drake friend escape captivity and vow to rescue the city. I don't know how long to drag the story on for.