Stone Remembers: A Novel of Wesnoth (completed)

For writers working on documentation, story prose, announcements, and all kinds of Wesnoth text.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

A-Red
Art Contributor

Stone Remembers: A Novel of Wesnoth (completed)

Post by A-Red »

Hey all,

I've finished writing the fan novel I've been working on for the last several months (and yes, at over 50,300 words it is novel-length), and am excited to finally be posting it for you to read. I would like to think of this as a contribution to the game in some way, though I don't know if that makes sense. I hope you enjoy.

Excerpt:

The next morning was sunlit and peaceful. Life had returned to the woodlands, flooding back in to fill the spaces it had deserted. Birds flitted from branch to branch, and beetles hummed through the air. It was as though the twin invasions of the day before had never happened; only the ground told otherwise. Kaltos was reminded of an old human legend he had once heard, in which a wizard had parted the ocean only to have it crash inward upon him as he attempted to cross. The natural world could not be conquered. It seethed with constant renewal, and with ageless vitality. Anything wrought upon it was swallowed whole—if not immediately, then eventually. It was so far beyond the measure of time that even patience held no meaning in its midst. That, Kaltos had always believed, was a part of its beauty.

They were in hill country, and the air was crisp with the first usherings of the day. It was mid-spring, and the grass was wet with the previous night’s mist. The troll party had kept to the low land wherever possible, but the path they followed was rugged nonetheless. He found it exhilarating.