Introductions

For writers working on documentation, story prose, announcements, and all kinds of Wesnoth text.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

esr
Retired Developer

Introductions

Post by esr »

This topic is for our writers to introduce themselves. Check in and give us some idea of your interests, your capabilities, and your availability.

I'll start. I'm your Lord of Prose, full name Eric S. Raymond, and yes I'm the famous open-source ESR but that probably will never be relevant here and fanboy or hater posts will be swiftly deleted. It is relevant that I am also a core Wesnoth developer and campaign designer (The Hammer of Thursagan). I am the project's most prolific producer of campaigns, in the sense of "movie producer" ; I have adapted and script-doctored all of the last nine campaigns to be mainlined since I joined the project in 2006.

I am also the project's main author and maintainer for WML-related tools, including wmlscope, wmllint, and wmlindent. A third hat I wear that is more relevant to writing is that I am currently the principal Wesnoth history maintainer.

My writing interests in this project center on improving the quality of Wesnoth storyline prose. I'll cheerfully document my own stuff; I will document other things as needed, but am less interested in that kind of work. In the past I have written or edited our major release announcements and done much of the wiki maintainance, but would like to offload those jobs.

Probably my most significant writerly skill for Wesnoth purposes is that I am good at pastiching archaic and poetic English from various periods; I can do pseudo-Elizabethan, or write Edwardian high-fantasy prose a la Tolkien/Dunsany/Eddison, or even write in something with a lifelike resemblance to the archaic Scots of Robert Burns. I use this time-machine capability heavily in writing and editing campaigns. I am also an English grammar and usage expert, but a very poor typist :-)