I have hit a wal in tRoW (sure you have heard this before)

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Becephalus
Inactive Developer

I have hit a wal in tRoW (sure you have heard this before)

Post by Becephalus »

I am new to Wesnoth (4 or 5 days) and first off I would like to say that this is a tremendous game. I purchase maybe 20 games a year and this free one is the best new game I have played in 2005. Fantastic work.

Ok here is my problem. I played tRoW for my first campaign as it seemed chronologically the first. I am playing on medium and did have to replay several scenarios as I only save where you are prompted and don't use the autosave. I am at those 4 elvish scenarios and I think I have hit a wall. It seemed to me like this had been a pretty successful campaign so far, lots of early victories, but I might have done somethign wrong. (Sounds a lot like a real military campaign). I have seen people mentioning having 10 Paladins and 5 MoL which seems crazy to me. Here is my army and casualties thusfar.

maybe 800-600 gold

1 Halberdier, 1 Royal Guard, 1 Javelineer, 1 Spearman (Lost 6 Spearman and 1 Swordsman)
2 Master Bowman
1 Paladin, 1 Knight, 1 Horseman, (Lost 1 Paladin, 4 Horseman and Sir Ruddy)
1 Great Mage, 1 MoL, 1 Silver Mage, 1 Mage (Lost 1 White Mage and 3 Mages)
Have lost 6 Footpads and 1 Outlaw (and Lady Outlaw but she came back)
2 Pillagers (Lost 1 Poacher)
1 Thug (Lost 3 Thugs and 1 Bandit)
Lost 2 Rogues and 1 Assasin
2 Merman Warriors (lost 2 Merman Warriors)

So that leaves me with the Dwarf/Haldric/OutlawQueen/Priest and 1 level 4 unit, 7 level 3 units, 6 level 2 units and 4 level 1 units (23 units total 33 lost total).

Should I push on? Or should I try again on easy, but with no reloading whatsoever.
Last edited by Becephalus on October 27th, 2005, 7:57 am, edited 1 time in total.