Konrad's importance

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

wandering_rogue

Konrad's importance

Post by wandering_rogue »

I just started playing about 2 weeks ago, and I've worked my way up to Elsenfar on Normal in HttT (Heir to the Throne). I have a few 2nd levels: 2 knights, a merman, a druid, a sorceress, 3-4 elvish types. Plus a few mages and others that are close to 2nd level. So far I haven't leveled up Konrad. I haven't seen much advantage in bringing him into the fighting too much. I've only done it when the scenario is under control and almost finished. Before that, it seems like too much of a risk. I can't help feeling as if I was playing chess and using the king to take a pawn (although I'm also a novice at chess, so maybe its a bad comparison!)

Is this a bad strategy? Will it hurt me later to have a lvl 1 Konrad? How can I bring him into the fighting more? I have had him kill (almost) dead oppponents, but even this seems hard because usually my other units finish the opponents off easily.
"Metaphor is richer than reality." -SG
Elvish_Pillager
Location: Everywhere you think, nowhere you can possibly imagine.

Post by Elvish_Pillager »

It helps to have a variety of units in your army. Shooting at enemies with Elvish Fighters' bows can be a good way to soften up the enemy for Konrad without killing it. Konrad is an unusually powerful unit at higher levels.
It's all fun and games until someone loses a lawsuit. Oh, and by the way, sending me private messages won't work. :/ If you must contact me, there's an e-mail address listed on the website in my profile.
lwa
Inactive Developer

Post by lwa »

Also, when Konrad level up, he has more hit point, which is helpful when attacked.
irrevenant
Moderator Emeritus

Post by irrevenant »