What are some strategies & tips regarding LVL 0 units in multiplayer?

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

DwarvenRogue

What are some strategies & tips regarding LVL 0 units in multiplayer?

Post by DwarvenRogue »

Hello all! I am new to the multiplayer side of the game and I have only had real success with the Walking Corps level 0 unit in multiplayer. I would like some tips and strategies to hone my use of Walking Corpses and make effective use of the bats and goblins. First I would like to define the basics as I see them and see what you all think of my takes.

=General strategies for Lvl 0: These are tactics that work pretty well with all level 0 units.

1) Have 1 or 2 lvl 0s waiting just behind my main force to finish off any units that have low health. This prevents me from wasting a high damage attacker to kill an unit with almost no HP left.

2) IF and ONLY IF there is terrain the lvl 0 can defend well and my opponent has not engaged my battle line yet. I can use a level 0 to extend the length of my battle line by 1 tile. I will show you how. '=' are empty tiles, '0' is a level 0 unit, '1' are level 1 or higher units, 'X' are opposing units.

1=0=1
=====
XXXXX
This only works if the level 0 has good terrain like a village and even then it can be a gamble depending on the time of day.

3) Blocking the opponent from back-caping villages without using up 1 gp of upkeep while sitting there. They most likely cannot take out an enemy scout but they may be able to stall long enough for backup to arrive.

4) Using them to help cover the retreat of more valuable units.

=Strategies for the Walking corpse: