Optimal play= turtle play in some matchups?

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Terrarius

Optimal play= turtle play in some matchups?

Post by Terrarius »

Im very new to the game but what i wonder:aren,t there quite a few matchups where if both players play perfect they will never engage because engaing means to lose a few % of victorychance?

For example dwarfes vs dwarfes.Not only are they terrible at offense but they also have the guard skill that doubles their resistances if they defend.So the player who choses to engage is at a disadvantage meaning if i imagine this scenario correctly camping the whole game is the best strat and victory deceided by whoever can wait longer.

For example undead vs undead.Dark adapts score devastating damage.If player 1 attacks the enemy skeletonfrontline first with his skeletonfrontline he will take the adaptfire first with already slightly damaged units while the player who defended can just pull his damaged skeletons back.I could imagine that you could just move your army closer to the enemy without attacking but than you are eventually even worse off...2 adapts can now blow up 1 of your skeletons and move their frontline with them to cover them.If this would play out as i imagine,both players would stay outside of each others attackrange for the whole game until the winner is eventually deceided by whoever loses patience first.

Im tryng to determine if this games metaplay is to my liking to know if its worth getting my *** kicked for hundreds of hours until im finaly good enough to have a chance to win(since the game is complex,the playercount is low and guides lackuster and only explaining the abseloute basics).Would be a waste to go through that much suffering just to discover that oftentimes the metastrat is to wait longer than your opponent.Looking at each others armys for hours without ever engaging is not my definition of fun.