A brief update on faction Guides? (For 1.12.5 onward)

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Crimson_Conure
2019 Amateur Fast Champion

A brief update on faction Guides? (For 1.12.5 onward)

Post by Crimson_Conure »

Hello! I'm brand new to Wesnoth. I just started playing the game about a week or 2 ago. And, I joined the forums today.

I'm requesting that some wesnoth veteran/developer/etc. creates an updated faction guide for 1.12.5, and later versions?
So far, I 'main' the Knalgan Alliance (not hodor), and I also have a very deep interest for the undead, which is somewhat ironic haha, because they appear to almost have the opposite play styles..

Anyway, it would be greatly appreciated if someone would create a new, updated faction guide, especially if you could do a guide dedicated to undead, or knalgans >:). When I say 'guide', I picture JW's guide; his series. This is the context i'm referring to.
Gyra_Solune

Re: A brief update on faction Guides? (For 1.12.5 onward)

Post by Gyra_Solune »

Here is the guide I primarily use in most instances!

https://wiki.wesnoth.org/How_to_play...

It's fairly up to date - only major omission is lack of Khalifate stuff. Which I tried to shore up at least partially!

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=43612
Crimson_Conure

Post by Crimson_Conure »

Ooh, neat. :)

I thought those guides were like 7 years out of date? Who is the author of them?
Gyra_Solune

Post by Gyra_Solune »

Crimson_Conure wrote:Ooh, neat. :)

I thought those guides were like 7 years out of date? Who is the author of them?
They're a touch old? But the thing is, almost nothing has changed radically in terms of multiplayer balance in a long time. Arguably the biggest change in recent years was giving an Arcane attack to the Dark Adept so as to make Undead mirror matches less abysmal while affecting almost no other matchup, and that was before these guides.
Horus2

Post by Horus2 »