Drakes newbie

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

tuahaa

Drakes newbie

Post by tuahaa »

This is the first 'proper' game I've actually won by myself. He left the game, but I had a feeling I had already won (correct me if I'm wrong). I'm a newbie, and so were the other guys, but it was very fun. I'm learning how to play Drakes and I used to play as the Undead (although I wasn't much good).

Any tips and tricks on how to play better (doesn't have to be just drakes, it can be general strategies) would be appreciated.
Attachments
's_Cross_Turn_7_(3562).gz
My newbie game
(12.3 KiB) Downloaded 379 times
Last edited by tuahaa on January 4th, 2010, 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Just_end_turn

Re: Newbie Drakes and Loyalists vs Rebels and Loyalists

Post by Just_end_turn »

If you just want to play better, Isar cross isn't really the best map.... But you still can learn many things there...
Tonepoet

Post by Tonepoet »

Watching as I post:

On turn 4 I'm surprised you didn't lose anything with the Drakes there. It's generally not a wise idea to camp in villages more than halfway across the map early on because that's considered enemy territory, and a well equipped opponent should be able to swiftly deal with the problem at your loss. I see no good reason to attack the enemy leader with your skirmisher either. Not only was the Time of Day set out against doing such a thing but your opponent was theoretically more than capable of killing it swiftly and blocking out subsequent attacks while the leader went back to recruit and heal. Granted, your opponent wasn't able to do either of these things but this is only because his units hit below the usual par.