Playing on hard

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

mephi

Playing on hard

Post by mephi »

hi, i started playing this game 1-2 weeks ago. i played it on easy. i finished the campaign HttT with mass of lvl 3 units. so i switched to hard. i read a lot of strategies and tips. i started the first lvl. trying to move smart and place my units on good positions(ok not very difficult), attacking at day and letting the npc elves work as cannon fodder. i got vanished. there were too many units from the nothern orc.

on easy the walkthrough seemd very obvious, but not on hard. what did i do wrong??
podunk

Post by podunk »

Didn't play on medium? :-)

Hard is called hard for a reason - not being a smarty when I say that either. I played on medium for a long time before I won gracefuly enough to think I was ready for hard.

I get spanked pretty badly on hard. The computer has more resources and can afford more and higher level units, is more aggressive it seems at taking and holding villages so it's hard for me to win a scene and have enough money to carry into the next one.
PingPangQui

Post by PingPangQui »

It has been a while since I played this scenario on hard (btw. I've never played in medium too). Playing on hard is hard but also has an advantage - your units level faster.

I don't remember how I managed the first scenario. But a here a few hints that might help.

1.) Go straight for the postsign with Konrad (go first west than north) - finish as fast as possible.

2.) Recruit only fighters (+ one or two healers) and level than them only into captains (recruit only once - I think thats pretty clear).

3.) Play defensive: try to attack only shouters with fighters, slow heavy melee units.

4.) Use Delfador in battle to finish up havy melee units - just don't let him die.

I hope this helps a bit.