Skeptical_troll's abominations

Make art for user-made content.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
skeptical_troll

Skeptical_troll's abominations

Post by skeptical_troll »

Hi everybody. I am a complete noob in pixel art, but I wanted a 'fisherman' unit for my campaign and I tried to do the sprite myself. It is supposed to be a zero-level unit, no melee attack, few hitpoints and no advancements, but he can cast a net and slows opponents. Since he's not a warrior, I found it difficult to frankenstain it from the templates available, so I did it from scratch, which was probably a bit incautious :D

Now, I am aware it looks weird in many ways, not last the fact that he reminds a bit of the dwarves of Snow White, but I'd be immensely grateful if any of the artists around could tell me what are the most obvious things that I am doing wrong, in terms of colors, anatomy and movements.

I attempted to do the attack animation. since it is a ranged attack I suppose I need to connect it somehow to the 'projectile' frames, any suggestions on how to do that? In my initial plans they were just taken from the netcaster or goblin pillager web attacks, but my current net is quite different from that (I should maybe make mine coarser and bigger, so it will not be mistaken for a curtain :D ) .

For some reason some details went lost in the gif conversion (e.g. transparency of the shadow and anti-aliasing in general)
Attachments
fisherman_launch.gif
fisherman_launch.gif (13.18 KiB) Viewed 5144 times
fisherman.png
fisherman.png (3.51 KiB) Viewed 5144 times
Last edited by skeptical_troll on March 28th, 2016, 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
beetlenaut
Developer

Re: Fisherman abomination

Post by beetlenaut »