Cactose

Make art for user-made content.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
Kerth

Cactose

Post by Kerth »

Alright, I'm trying to make my first unit (Cactose, for a user made campaign... and if they don't want I'm sure I can somebody too.). So far, I've got a rough draft of an idle stance done... I'd just like to see how to improve it. (i.e. I'm not very good at making shadows). I made the eyes magenta because I don't see a different spot to put team markings on the unit.
Attachments
Cactose.png
Cactose.png (2.15 KiB) Viewed 4406 times
Last edited by Kerth on December 19th, 2009, 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Devas

Re: Criticism Request

Post by Devas »

Doesn't look like it has spines to me. (it's name sounds like "cactus", so I just guessed it is one)
And you could give it flowers at the sides of the head or on the hands that could have the team color. (and that could also justify giving it a poisonnous attack, if you want to)
Last edited by Devas on October 25th, 2009, 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
doofus-01
Art Director

Post by doofus-01 »

It's not a bad sprite, but cactus isn't the first thing that came to mind. The roots should probably be replaced with little cacti or something. Some spines or striations would also make it look more cactus-like.

There's a wiki page on shadows, it's somewhere in the "create" link at the top of this page.
Kerth

Post by Kerth »

I like the flower idea a lot :D . I did notice the lack of spines, I'm still trying to make them look good. I haven't spined the bottom of the Cactose (Cactus Wose) because I do agree it needs to look more like a cactus then roots. I do think the spines I did add help make it more of a cactus, though. I'll probably do the flower last... I just need to find out how to make the little cacti roots :p
Attachments
CactoseV2.png
CactoseV2.png (2.14 KiB) Viewed 4367 times
A-Red
Art Contributor

Post by A-Red »