spawns.lua + Random map = Lua errors

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
vghetto

spawns.lua + Random map = Lua errors

Post by vghetto »

Hello,

This is my first post and off the bat I'm new to WML and Lua.

I managed to create a single player randomly generated map, by ripping off code from Random_Scenario.cfg, and integrating it with spawns.lua from The_Hammer_of_Thursagan campaign.

What it does is after a village is captured, an enemy peasant spawns out of the village and attacks the player.
Everything works fine expect for villages that are located on the edges of the map. In that case a Lua tries to spawn a unit outside the bounds of the randomly generated (40x40) map and throws out errors like these:

Code: Select all

20191028 22:05:34 error config: Invalid move_unit_fake destination: 32,0
20191028 22:05:34 error scripting/lua: ~add-ons/my_first_campaign/lua/spawns.lua:27: bad argument #2 to 'put_unit' (invalid location)
stack traceback:
        [C]: in field 'put_unit'
        ~add-ons/my_first_campaign/lua/spawns.lua:27: in local 'cmd'
        lua/wml-utils.lua:145: in field 'handle_event_commands'
        lua/wml-flow.lua:6: in function <lua/wml-flow.lua:5>

20191028 22:12:03 error config: Invalid move_unit_fake destination: 15,41
20191028 22:12:03 error scripting/lua: ~add-ons/my_first_campaign/lua/spawns.lua:27: bad argument #2 to 'put_unit' (invalid location)
stack traceback:
        [C]: in field 'put_unit'
        ~add-ons/my_first_campaign/lua/spawns.lua:27: in local 'cmd'
        lua/wml-utils.lua:145: in field 'handle_event_commands'
        lua/wml-flow.lua:6: in function <lua/wml-flow.lua:5>