Trouble Creating a Faction

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
Post Reply
___Under___Score___
Posts: 1
Joined: November 13th, 2018, 2:44 am

Trouble Creating a Faction

Post by ___Under___Score___ » November 13th, 2018, 5:04 am

I've been working to create a totally new era for Multiplayer so that a school affiliated club I am in can adjudicate combat in our war-games. I had a lot of trouble getting the era to even appear in the Multiplayer window, but after probably a half dozen attempts that at least is working. My problem now is that when launching a general scenario it immediately declares a defeat. I have yet to test with a custom scenario but I will report back on that when I get the chance to build it.

I think the issue has something to do with the command units I have created for the three factions, or perhaps with the faction .cfgs themselves. I also know that much of the unit development is incomplete, but I am hoping to begin testing a very bare-bones version within the week.

Any advice would be much appreciated, and I have added the zipped files for inspection.
Attachments
SCS_Battle_Mod.7z
(11.98 KiB) Downloaded 16 times

User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
Posts: 3619
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Trouble Creating a Faction

Post by Pentarctagon » November 13th, 2018, 7:14 am

Your unit files need the .cfg extension, and the units in the faction files need to match the id field. So for example:
BlueCommand -> BlueCommand.cfg
and in BlueCommand.cfg it needs id=Blue Command
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

Post Reply