set_variable nested in "if then" using iteration: provisional results

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
hyper_cubed

set_variable nested in "if then" using iteration: provisional results

Post by hyper_cubed »

Hey,

I have tried absolutely everything (I am a complete WML noob but I have learned a few things in the past couple of days).
It seems every time I try to use "if then", I am not able to create a specials array (I can store them fine as long as I don't use an "if then" but I don't want empty values in my array.

I am creating a convenient way to build amla conditions based on unit meta data and want to "can" easy unit info for other modders to use. My end goal is to be able to create extensible and dynamic amla lookup (but that is getting ahead of myself).

I can't see what I am doing wrong (this is a modification that will use an event to create meta data (for right now I am using on recruit so I can troubleshoot in the inspector easily))

The problem arises:

Code: Select all

[if]
	[variable]
		name=$unit.attack[$j].specials.$specials_categories[$k].category|[$l].id
		not_equals=""
	[/variable]
	[then]
		[color=#BF0000]{VARIABLE s_category "$specials_categories[$k].category"}
		{VARIABLE s_id "$unit.attack[$j].specials.$specials_categories[$k].category|[$l].id"}
		[set_variables]
			name=specials_array
			mode=insert
			[value]
				category=$s_category
				id=$s_id
			[/value]
		[/set_variables]
		{CLEAR_VARIABLE s_category}
		{CLEAR_VARIABLE s_id}[/color]
	[/then]
[/if]

#textdomain wesnoth-DynAmla

#define unit_quality
[event]
	name=recruit
    first_time_only=no

#store nice list of units attacks
	{VARIABLE i 0}
	[while]
		[variable]
			name="i"
			less_than=$unit.attack.length
		[/variable]
		[do]