Wesnoth User Made Content IDE [2.0.3]

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
Post Reply

What's your usage of the UMC IDE?

I don't use it, but I plan to.
24
42%
I don't use it and I don't plan to.
15
26%
I use it seldom
10
18%
I use it regularly.
8
14%
 
Total votes: 57

Velensk
Multiplayer Contributor
Posts: 3991
Joined: January 24th, 2007, 12:56 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by Velensk »

I figured out what it was, I was somehow given the wrong form. The note is up now.
"There are two kinds of old men in the world. The kind who didn't go to war and who say that they should have lived fast died young and left a handsome corpse and the old men who did go to war and who say that there is no such thing as a handsome corpse."
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

Thanks Velensk. Got it.

Timo
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

Hi everyone!

Plugin version 1.0.2 is out! The standalone version is available aswell.

As always:
- changelog:
1.0.2
* Fixed bug #17875 - Wesnoth projects is blank unless right-clicked
* Fixed bug #17882 - UTF-8 files with BOM not supported
* Fixed bug #17390 - Wesnoth menu doesn't appear

- Download and other information: http://eclipse.wesnoth.org

PS: it will take a while (aprox 4-5 hours till the update will be available on eclipse.wesnoth.org).
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
Scaeb
Posts: 96
Joined: April 14th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by Scaeb »

timotei wrote: * Fixed bug #17390 - Wesnoth menu doesn't appear
Hi, I have just installed the plugin (v1.0.2, on my Mac), but the Wesnoth menu nevertheless does not appear in my Eclipse.

Any ideas?
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

Scaeb wrote:
timotei wrote: * Fixed bug #17390 - Wesnoth menu doesn't appear
Hi, I have just installed the plugin (v1.0.2, on my Mac), but the Wesnoth menu nevertheless does not appear in my Eclipse.

Any ideas?
Hi Scaeb!

Yes. Last time's problem was due to the fact that I signed the jars (so they are "the official" ones). Removing the signing fixed the bug. After releasing 1.0.2, I've *particularly* tested the new version against a signed jar, and it worked. It seems somewhere on the road there is a bug. I'll investigate and come soon with a solution. :)

Timo
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

Hi Scaeb again,

Please file a new bug. I've just tested on windows/linux. I would have tested on MAC too but I don't own one.
Maybe you enjoying using the standalone version aswell.

Timo
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
Scaeb
Posts: 96
Joined: April 14th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by Scaeb »

Just a few days ago, just before 1.0.2 was out, I d/l-ed the standalone 1.0.1, but that did not work either*, that's why I gave a try to the eclipse classic + plugin.

*) The splash-screen came, but after that nothing. There wasn't even a process (neither in Mac OS's equivalent of Win Task Manager, nor in `ps').

I'll have a look at the new standalone version and when having an opportunity officially file a bug. On sourceforge, I guess?
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

Scaeb wrote:Just a few days ago, just before 1.0.2 was out, I d/l-ed the standalone 1.0.1, but that did not work either*, that's why I gave a try to the eclipse classic + plugin.

*) The splash-screen came, but after that nothing. There wasn't even a process (neither in Mac OS's equivalent of Win Task Manager, nor in `ps').

I'll have a look at the new standalone version and when having an opportunity officially file a bug. On sourceforge, I guess?
No. Sourceforge it's just for hosting the files. For bugs: https://gna.org/bugs/?group=wesnoth, and select Eclipse Plugin category.

Thanks.
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
Scaeb
Posts: 96
Joined: April 14th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by Scaeb »

For 1.0.2/standalone not even the splash screen appears. Moving it to gna...
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

Scaeb wrote:For 1.0.2/standalone not even the splash screen appears. Moving it to gna...
Ok. Thanks!

It seems there is a problem with the mac builds. Unfortunately I don't own a mac to test, but I'll try and see what I can do.
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
Scaeb
Posts: 96
Joined: April 14th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by Scaeb »

Hi, tim,

As you're aware of it, I could finally run both standalone and eclipse+plugin versions.
However, I have some more errors concerning the importing of campaigns and add-ons to report. I don't want to bug you with filing even more bugs at Gna! (pun intended). Or shall I go on?
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

Scaeb wrote:Hi, tim,

As you're aware of it, I could finally run both standalone and eclipse+plugin versions.
However, I have some more errors concerning the importing of campaigns and add-ons to report. I don't want to bug you with filing even more bugs at Gna! (pun intended). Or shall I go on?
Any errors and bugs shall go into the bug reports. :) So go on.
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

Hi everyone!

Plugin version 1.0.3 is out! The standalone version is available aswell.

As always:
- changelog:
1.0.3
* Fixed bug #18080
* Fixed bug #18076
* Fixed bug #18025

- Downloads and other information: http://eclipse.wesnoth.org
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
Velensk
Multiplayer Contributor
Posts: 3991
Joined: January 24th, 2007, 12:56 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by Velensk »

My old problem is fixed but I have a new question.

When starting it up, what is a mac user supposed to put in the Python executable directory? I'm pretty sure OSX comes with Python but that it is hidden.
"There are two kinds of old men in the world. The kind who didn't go to war and who say that they should have lived fast died young and left a handsome corpse and the old men who did go to war and who say that there is no such thing as a handsome corpse."
timotei
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: March 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

Re: Wesnoth Eclipse User Made Content Plugin

Post by timotei »

If python is in your PATH, that is, if you can do:

Code: Select all

python
in the terminal, than you can input python in the directory.

I use that version :)
Wesnoth User Made Content IDE/Plugin - an easier way of developing new content for Wesnoth.
Post Reply