Hiding unit nationality in a multiplayer game

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
Narcissus

Hiding unit nationality in a multiplayer game

Post by Narcissus »

So, I am not sure how to do this, and I do not know enough about the game to tell if setting [unit-type]ellipse[/unit_type] to a blank/transparent image would remove all methods by which unit nationality can be detected.

I can't think of any other ways of seeing a unit's owner, but then, I am a novice.

Thank you in advance.
melinath

Re: Hiding unit nationality in a multiplayer game

Post by melinath »

Nationality? Do you mean side?

Why do you want to, if you don't mind the question?
Narcissus

Post by Narcissus »

Yes, I mean side. Sorry, civ terminology.

Basically I want to make a unit or unit ability that allows players in largish free-for-alls to attack opponents without tipping those opponents off to the identity of the attacker. Sort of like hiring privateers.
Zarel

Post by Zarel »

You could add a new side, call it "unaligned" or "neutral" or something, and assign all the "hidden side" units to that side.
Proud creator of the :whistle: smiley | I prefer the CC-0 license.
ancestral
Inactive Developer

Post by ancestral »

Zarel wrote:You could add a new side, call it "unaligned" or "neutral" or something, and assign all the "hidden side" units to that side.
The trouble is, if you want this to be one-way I don't think it'll work very easily.

That is to say, the defender cannot identify the individual attackers (they all look the same) but the attackers, controlled by several different players, should be able to know which attacking unit belongs to which player.