Scenario Error

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

I'm working on a campaign, and up until just a couple of days ago it was working just fine. I finished my fourth scenario and loaded it to test it out, but got the following error message:
Spoiler:
I've searched through the code several times, yet I can't seem to find any problem. I got the same error message before (missing closing tag for tag scenario) in my first scenario, but that was because I forgot to add quotes at the end of one of my messages. But I can't find anything wrong with this one! Can anyone help? Here's the code for the scenario:
Spoiler:
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
User avatar
mnewton1
Posts: 777
Joined: November 12th, 2008, 4:31 am
Location: On my pretty teal horsey.
Contact:

Re: Scenario Error

Post by mnewton1 »

the word name is missing a 'e' in side 2

Code: Select all

user_team_nam= _ "Orcs"
Creator of Ageless Era
Check out Frogatto & Friends, it's made by the same people who created The Battle for Wesnoth!
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

I just fixed that, but it's still showing the same error.
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
User avatar
mnewton1
Posts: 777
Joined: November 12th, 2008, 4:31 am
Location: On my pretty teal horsey.
Contact:

Re: Scenario Error

Post by mnewton1 »

Although I doubt it maybe the problem is you only have a user_team_name and not a team_name and a user_team_name
Creator of Ageless Era
Check out Frogatto & Friends, it's made by the same people who created The Battle for Wesnoth!
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

The thing is, it was working just the other day, and I just made a few minor adjustments to it before it stopped working.
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
User avatar
doofus-01
Art Director
Posts: 3969
Joined: January 6th, 2008, 9:27 pm
Location: USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by doofus-01 »

Try deleting events, one at a time, until the scenario loads. (Save a back-up of course)
User avatar
Mist
Inactive Developer
Posts: 753
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 8:44 am
Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Re: Scenario Error

Post by Mist »

Check if you can load the

Code: Select all

campaigns/Reclaiming_Gryphon_Mountain/maps/02_The_Defense_of_Feleon.map
map file in the editor.
Somewhere, between the sacred silence and sleep.
Disorder.
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

I deleted events, but still had the same problem. I'm wondering if it has something to do with the macros...?
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

I got rid of events in the scenario until all I had was the introductory information, but it still came up with the same error message! So I deleted that; now I only have the two scenario tags. I run it, and now it comes up with the exact same error message, but for my first scenario. So I got rid of everything except the two scenario tags, and then it did it for the third! I have no idea what is going on. The files could be corrupt, but I truly have no idea. Does anyone have a clue?
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

And yes, loading the map files in the editor works perfectly fine.
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
User avatar
doofus-01
Art Director
Posts: 3969
Joined: January 6th, 2008, 9:27 pm
Location: USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by doofus-01 »

Does anyone have a clue?
Maybe the problem is in _main.cfg? Post them as a zip, maybe someone can look at it.
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

Here's the _main.cfg file.
Attachments
_main.cfg
(1.29 KiB) Downloaded 128 times
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

I tried changing first_scenario= to a different scenario, but still had the same problem!! I'm pretty sure now that it has something to do with the _main.cfg file. Either that or the campaign folder as a whole.
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
User avatar
mnewton1
Posts: 777
Joined: November 12th, 2008, 4:31 am
Location: On my pretty teal horsey.
Contact:

Re: Scenario Error

Post by mnewton1 »

Lol you are missing the:

Code: Select all

[binary_path]
	path=data/campaigns/THE NAME OF THE FOLDER/
[/binary_path]
Creator of Ageless Era
Check out Frogatto & Friends, it's made by the same people who created The Battle for Wesnoth!
User avatar
terakay273
Posts: 76
Joined: January 26th, 2009, 3:07 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Scenario Error

Post by terakay273 »

Same problem; the thing is, it was working fine a few days ago!!
Rhugastan's Bridge campaign
8 scenarios of 20 completed
Post Reply