Selective abilities and skirmish

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
TL

Selective abilities and skirmish

Post by TL »

Hi! I'm rather new to Wesnoth but I have a habit of compulsively modding anything I can get my hands on, so I've been fiddling with WML a bit. I've had some small early successes, but now I'm stumped trying to implement an idea I thought up.

The idea is basically to create a conditional skirmish type ability ("ability A") which functions as normal skirmish, except not against units with the anti-skirmish ability ("ability B", which is essentially just a dummy ability--it's only intended to be used for a description of the effect, and as a filter target for ability A). Unfortunately, I have a couple problems:

1. Using [filter_adjacent] I can figure out a way to get a skirmish ability that is enabled if there is any adjacent unit with a certain ability, and by adding [not] I can have a skirmish ability that is enabled only if there is an adjacent unit who does not have a certain ability, but I cannot figure out any way I can have a skirmish ability that is disabled if there is any adjacent unit with a certain ability.

2. Somewhat related: The only way I could get the skirmish ability working as above was to define six seperate [skirmisher] tags, each with a [filter_adjacent] looking at a different direction, but this method seems kind of clunky. Is there a better way to do this? Such as hopefully one that gets around problem #1?

3. Also related: is it possible to set up an ability's filter to pass units which are/are not on the same side as the ability's owner? Really not sure how the side filter works there.