[engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Discussion among members of the development team.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

User avatar
sacred_chao
Posts: 32
Joined: December 15th, 2007, 11:53 pm

[engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by sacred_chao » December 11th, 2010, 1:03 am

I noticed the Wesnoth install has gotten huge and I also noticed that there seem two be two versions of all the artwork - one with a black background and one with a transparent background.

Is it possible to generate the black-background versions dynamically on install instead? It seems like it'd save a lot of bandwidth.

Alternately, is it possible to just, when necessary, throw a black square behind the transparent version using the engine itself?

Thanks.
All things are true. Especially false things.

User avatar
shadowm
Site Administrator
Posts: 6415
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by shadowm » December 11th, 2010, 2:44 am

Been suggested before*.

* The artists and one UI developer wanted to kill me for that.
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm.
Elsewhere: shadowmBlogFollow me on Twitter

User avatar
sacred_chao
Posts: 32
Joined: December 15th, 2007, 11:53 pm

Re: Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by sacred_chao » December 11th, 2010, 5:46 am

shadowmaster wrote:Been suggested before*.

* The artists and one UI developer wanted to kill me for that.
Heh. Well it was a good suggestion (if not necessarily an easy one to implement :)).

Please feel free to close this and redirect to the thread where it was already discussed.
All things are true. Especially false things.

User avatar
thespaceinvader
Retired Art Director
Posts: 8414
Joined: August 25th, 2007, 10:12 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by thespaceinvader » December 11th, 2010, 9:27 am

When GUI2 comes finally to fruition, we might conceivably be able to do away with the blank background versions entirely, I hope. It's a long way away yet, though.
http://thespaceinvader.co.uk | http://thespaceinvader.deviantart.com
Back to work. Current projects: Catching up on commits. Picking Meridia back up. Sprite animations, many and varied.

User avatar
pauxlo
Posts: 1023
Joined: September 19th, 2006, 8:54 pm

Re: [engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by pauxlo » December 11th, 2010, 1:03 pm

The black-background versions are used in the help, the transparent background versions are used for ingame dialogues. They have different sizes, and automatic scaling would often reduce quality, thus the artists feel it is better to include both in the download.

User avatar
shadowm
Site Administrator
Posts: 6415
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by shadowm » December 12th, 2010, 12:09 am

sacred_chao wrote:Please feel free to close this and redirect to the thread where it was already discussed.
Nah, it was on IRC.
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm.
Elsewhere: shadowmBlogFollow me on Twitter

silene
Posts: 1109
Joined: August 28th, 2004, 10:02 pm

Re: Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by silene » December 12th, 2010, 9:05 am

thespaceinvader wrote:When GUI2 comes finally to fruition, we might conceivably be able to do away with the blank background versions entirely, I hope. It's a long way away yet, though.
It doesn't have anything to do with GUI2, as it's just a one-line change in the engine to use one or the other. As pauxlo and shadowmaster explained, some artists were against downscaling portraits, so we had to ship both size.

Sangel
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 2232
Joined: March 26th, 2004, 10:58 pm
Location: New York, New York

Re: Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by Sangel » December 13th, 2010, 2:12 am

silene wrote:
thespaceinvader wrote:When GUI2 comes finally to fruition, we might conceivably be able to do away with the blank background versions entirely, I hope. It's a long way away yet, though.
It doesn't have anything to do with GUI2, as it's just a one-line change in the engine to use one or the other. As pauxlo and shadowmaster explained, some artists were against downscaling portraits, so we had to ship both size.
The problem is that automatic downscaling alone produces inferior quality compared to the selective cropping/downscaling. In theory, one could have a system which allows cropping and downscaling choices to be set on an image-by-image basis, with the parameters given by the artist. But that would require a lot of work on both the coding side and the art side, coding up the system and then going through each image and setting the correct parameters.
"Pure logic is the ruin of the spirit." - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

silene
Posts: 1109
Joined: August 28th, 2004, 10:02 pm

Re: Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by silene » December 13th, 2010, 8:22 am

Sangel wrote:
silene wrote: It doesn't have anything to do with GUI2, as it's just a one-line change in the engine to use one or the other. As pauxlo and shadowmaster explained, some artists were against downscaling portraits, so we had to ship both size.
The problem is that automatic downscaling alone produces inferior quality compared to the selective cropping/downscaling. In theory, one could have a system which allows cropping and downscaling choices to be set on an image-by-image basis, with the parameters given by the artist. But that would require a lot of work on both the coding side and the art side, coding up the system and then going through each image and setting the correct parameters.
There would be a bit of work on the coding side, sure. But I don't understand why it would require a lot of work on the art side. Why would it be more work to set the cropping/scaling parameters in Wesnoth rather than in Photoshop/Gimp when you create a portrait?

User avatar
ancestral
Developer
Posts: 1108
Joined: August 1st, 2006, 5:29 am
Location: Motion City

Re: [engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by ancestral » December 13th, 2010, 9:12 am

If only we had vector-based artwork and an engine which could display SVG. Then we'd have scalability :D
Wesnoth BestiaryPREVIEW IT HERE )
Unit tree and stat browser
CanvasPREVIEW IT HERE )
Exp. map viewer

User avatar
thespaceinvader
Retired Art Director
Posts: 8414
Joined: August 25th, 2007, 10:12 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: [engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by thespaceinvader » December 13th, 2010, 10:53 am

If only we had a billion dollars and 20 professional artists and I had a pony.

Pretty big 'if only' :P
http://thespaceinvader.co.uk | http://thespaceinvader.deviantart.com
Back to work. Current projects: Catching up on commits. Picking Meridia back up. Sprite animations, many and varied.

Sangel
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 2232
Joined: March 26th, 2004, 10:58 pm
Location: New York, New York

Re: [engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by Sangel » December 14th, 2010, 1:27 am

thespaceinvader wrote:If only we had a billion dollars and 20 professional artists and I had a pony.

Pretty big 'if only' :P
You don't have a pony?

Every young illustrator should have a pony!
"Pure logic is the ruin of the spirit." - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
bigkahuna
Posts: 657
Joined: September 11th, 2010, 6:24 pm
Location: In your mind.

Re: [engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by bigkahuna » December 14th, 2010, 1:48 am

Sangel wrote:Every young illustrator should have a pony!
He's old. And I'm on a horse.
Check out my campaign Sweet Revenge!
Join the new R2D forum!

User avatar
kitty
Retired Portrait Director
Posts: 1290
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 3:29 pm

Re: [engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by kitty » December 16th, 2010, 10:01 pm

For I was one artist rejecting a similar idea at one time, I wanted to explain my reason here again: At that instance it was about a automatically rescaled version for the campaign selection dialogue, but I imagine it being similar for resizing and putting on black - The example I saw, was simply not acceptable because the edges were all visibly pixelated… But if there was a way to get that done in a good quality I'm all for it! And defining some kind of parameters or whatever for each picture would seem perfectly acceptable to me as well.

But I don't want a pony at all.

User avatar
Captain_Wrathbow
Posts: 1664
Joined: June 30th, 2009, 2:03 pm
Location: Guardia

Re: [engine] Generate black backgrounds for art on install?

Post by Captain_Wrathbow » December 17th, 2010, 11:35 pm

If Kitty forfeits her pony, I claim it.

Post Reply