Asking for advice concerning new MP era

It's not easy creating an entire faction or era. Post your work and collaborate in this forum.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Xalzar

Asking for advice concerning new MP era

Post by Xalzar »

Hello everyone!
I was wondering, has anybody made a pure mythological era for Wesnoth? To my knowledge there is none, only factions.
So I was entertaining myself with this idea, and I started scavenging art and assembling frankensprites to compile such era (I'm not an artist! I do sometimes dabble with the code though - and keep getting stuck in ideas too big to finish them in reasonable time).
An era could represent a project sufficiently little to sate my creative hunger for a bit, and maybe find new willpower to try to finish my other, biggest works.

My idea is: an era comprising factions each ispired by a different mythological tradition from cultures around the world, containing human units (more on this later) and mythic units.
Another feature, less fleshed out, is some sort of "powers system" depending on which deity from the faction pantheon the player decides to venerate. In my plans every faction should have between 12 to 15 gods to choose from, which grant those special abilities and unique mythic units.

Have some examples of unit sprites, you should recognize some blatantly borrowed sprites and some bizarre frankensprites (luckily mythology is rich of hybrid creatures). In order (left-right, up-down)
Vizir and Phoenix (Arabic)
Nuckelavee and Kelpie (horse form) (Celtic)
Pixiu (female form) and Sun Wukong (Chinese)
Hieracosphinx and Ammit (Egyptian)
Harpy and Chimaera (Greek)
Matsya and Kamadhenu (Indian)
Kappa and Onryo (Japanese)
Bas Celik and Psoglav (Slavic)
Lamassu (Mesopotamian)
Berserker and Sleipnir (Norse)
Rooster (Eastern Zodiac)
Capricornus (Western Zodiac)
Roc and Manticore (Persian)
Feathered Serpent and Ahuizotl (Pre-Columbian)
Legionnaire (Roman)
presentation.png
presentation.png (96.62 KiB) Viewed 2781 times