Which UtbS terrains can move to mainline

Production of artwork for the game by regular contributors takes place here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

SkeletonCrew
Inactive Developer

Which UtbS terrains can move to mainline

Post by SkeletonCrew »

With the new terrain engine we can move the custom terrains of UtbS into mainline, the question is; is this wanted. I'm no artist so I don't want to judge their quality. There also seem to be some unused terrains in the terrain directory of UtbS.

Another problem is the lava in UtbS it uses a custom letter since it aliases to snow but uses the same images as the normal mainline lava. The mainline lava has been greatly enhanced latetly. For 1.2 I tried to get the same result in UtbS but when I copied pasted the definition in the UtbS terrain-graphics.cfg I got a lot of glitches, the stone path transitions where getting over the lava in the air, which looked ugly. I fixed the problem by coping the transitions to the main terrain-graphics.cfg and all worked. So what would be the best future solution?
The lava is used in one scenario, see this screenshot http://www.wesnoth.org/images/sshots/wesnoth-1.2-f.jpg

I think the best solution would be to let UtbS use it's own letter (eg _l) in it's own terrain.cfg and move the transitions into the main terrain-graphics.cfg. (Note I reserved all letters starting with an underscore for special purposes.)

According to terrain.cfg there should also be a custom terrain in Eastern Invation but that seems to be no longer the case.
Darth Fool
Retired Developer

Re: Which UtbS terrains can move to mainline

Post by Darth Fool »

SkeletonCrew wrote:With the new terrain engine we can move the custom terrains of UtbS into mainline, the question is; is this wanted. I'm no artist so I don't want to judge their quality. There also seem to be some unused terrains in the terrain directory of UtbS.