Alien Invasion survival co-op

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Saratos

Alien Invasion survival co-op

Post by Saratos »

Hey guys, so I am rather new to WML but have a bit of a coding background and am having some fun putting together my first map.

I am making a co-op survival map using ageless sprites where two farmers are confronted with a UFO landing in their fields and have to fight off the hordes of aliens. I am about one third of the way done making the waves, but I am trying to work on the balancing, and would love if some of you Wesnoth fans out there might be willing to help me test it and give some advice.

Would love to work out some times to chat and play. Open to ideas as well! Thanks ^.^
ghype

Re: Alien Invasion survival co-op

Post by ghype »

send it me via pm or so and I'll give it a try. I am a fan of good survival maps. if I like it, I might help you with graphics, since I can do sprites and stuff.
ghype

Post by ghype »

ok so i just checked it out.
i find it good that you actually started to do your own survival.
however. here are some notes:

- the starting gold must be adjusted according to how many units you spawn, either spawn more units or give less starting gold
- the map maybe is too big, if it would be smaller, the units would be more compressed and the waves would be more pressing/challenging
- some ai bugs, some units didn moved if no units where in reach to atack, could be fixed with smaller map
- also i liked the idea of playing farmer/loy defending against alien-ish units. but that didn happen. we played default factions and thus it becomes a generic survival where you kill spawned units

it recommend to consider new variants to make this a fresh take on survival, so it doesnt become something generic: