Knalgan Alliance Promotion Branching

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

KingBigMac

Knalgan Alliance Promotion Branching

Post by KingBigMac »

So first of all I am not a multiplayer expert. The following remarks are based off of following the game just recently.

I understand some people seem to think the Knalgan Alliance is underpowered in competitive MP. The claim, as it goes, is that 4 movement points for the Knalgan mainstay units is just too few, and an insurmountable hindrance against opponents who know how to exploit this lack of mobility. The result is experienced players with Knalga in MP seem to spam footpads and thieves.

I personally really don't know enough about MP balance to weigh in on the discussion, however I have made an observation that if acted upon may please everyone who likes this game.

Thematically, Dwarves are my favorite faction, and I have recently noticed something rather unfortunate about them in MP. Namely, not a single one of their units has multiple promotion paths. Compared to the other factions this is surprising. Even the Northerners have some branching, not to mention the other four (Spearman with three choices).

I don't think multiple promotion paths is ever a bad thing, especially since it effects balance so indirectly, and is not actually adding another unit to the recruitment pool as has been suggested in the past (Dwarven Scout from campaigns).

One strength of Dwarven units is that they are tough. Furthermore, they are PREDICTABLY tough. Their defenses are on average low, but their resistances high, which along with high hitpoints makes keeping individual units alive somewhat easier than with other factions. This means that if I knew that I could promote my Dwarven Fighter to some variant with better mobility than a Steelclad, I could probably ensure that happens.