World Conquest II

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Pagawan
Posts: 16
Joined: January 29th, 2014, 1:52 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by Pagawan » July 14th, 2019, 6:28 pm

Some heroes could use some improvements. For example the merman units as heroes are considered useless. The naga isn't that bad since in later stages he can navigate dry land well enough.

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1190
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by gfgtdf » August 18th, 2019, 1:04 pm

Uploaded this to the 1.15 addon server, Its a bit broken though because of the dunefolk rework in 1.15 . But ghype offered some help with that.
The version on 1.15 also tries to make the map generators a bit more effective. Also you can use the map generators in the editor now.
Pagawan wrote:
July 14th, 2019, 6:28 pm
Some heroes could use some improvements. For example the merman units as heroes are considered useless. The naga isn't that bad since in later stages he can navigate dry land well enough.
Hmm ye i am not the best player myself so i currently won't approve balance changes unless:
1) either the wesnoth units changed (like it happend with the dunefolk in 1.15)
2) or a majority of good players approves them.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

User avatar
Pagawan
Posts: 16
Joined: January 29th, 2014, 1:52 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by Pagawan » August 20th, 2019, 2:40 pm

Where do we (good players) cast our votes? It's well known merman/maid find usually counts as wasted point.

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1190
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by gfgtdf » August 20th, 2019, 5:48 pm

It's not like i have an something like official voting system, and honestly i currenly don't know how it'd do it since i don't really keep track of good players and i assume most of them have multiple accounts, but if you suggest something concrete and maybe get maybe two other people to approve it here in the thread, it will probably go in, but also notice that even if its 'in' it won't go to the addon server untill i actuall make a new release.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

User avatar
Pagawan
Posts: 16
Joined: January 29th, 2014, 1:52 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by Pagawan » August 22nd, 2019, 12:21 pm

Alright. I know a few good players, I can get them to support.

hay207
Posts: 40
Joined: November 26th, 2009, 5:46 am
Location: Egypt

Re: World Conquest II

Post by hay207 » September 17th, 2019, 2:56 pm

Hi, first, thanks for maintaining this beautiful addon,
Second, Can you make bigger maps for 1st and 2nd scenarios , because in some nightmare situations, fight area gets too tight, especially when you got no space to run, this's more apparent in map2 when you get surrounded, and very likely to lose.
Ports: Velensk's tower defense, dov's deep shrine
Addons: Tower defense maps , some ANL scenarios like: ANL 3p "A New Land" survival type, and ANL Co-operative map for 2p

User avatar
Krogen
Posts: 199
Joined: January 1st, 2013, 3:43 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by Krogen » September 17th, 2019, 8:56 pm

I recently played 1p. Strangely i had the same experience. I struggled on the first and second scenarios due to the map being small. Loyalists with horsemen and mages and drakes in general are especially hard to deal with. On the other hand, once i got through the first two, the third and the fourth scenarios were a piece of cake. The fifth got difficult again, but that's to be expected.
"A lion doesn't concern himself with the opinions of the sheep." - Tywin Lannister

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1190
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by gfgtdf » September 18th, 2019, 7:02 pm

Krogen wrote:
September 17th, 2019, 8:56 pm
I recently played 1p. Strangely i had the same experience. I struggled on the first and second scenarios due to the map being small. Loyalists with horsemen and mages and drakes in general are especially hard to deal with. On the other hand, once i got through the first two, the third and the fourth scenarios were a piece of cake. The fifth got difficult again, but that's to be expected.
So do you think that this effects only the 1p version or also the other versions?
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

User avatar
Krogen
Posts: 199
Joined: January 1st, 2013, 3:43 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by Krogen » September 18th, 2019, 8:57 pm

I only experienced it in the 1p version. Never had any problems of that nature in 2p and definitely not in 3p.
"A lion doesn't concern himself with the opinions of the sheep." - Tywin Lannister

hay207
Posts: 40
Joined: November 26th, 2009, 5:46 am
Location: Egypt

Re: World Conquest II

Post by hay207 » September 19th, 2019, 4:34 pm

I was talking about 2p, and especially 3p, you get surrounded very easily.
Ports: Velensk's tower defense, dov's deep shrine
Addons: Tower defense maps , some ANL scenarios like: ANL 3p "A New Land" survival type, and ANL Co-operative map for 2p

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1190
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by gfgtdf » September 20th, 2019, 9:44 pm

hmm okay once says yes one says no, so I'd currently not change the 2p or 3p map size
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

User avatar
SatHyre
Posts: 68
Joined: March 30th, 2008, 7:06 am
Location: dago

Re: World Conquest II

Post by SatHyre » September 21st, 2019, 10:27 am

hi,
for map1, you can set for a big map in settings when you create the map. you can set also the number of villages, more or less hills.
i dont know if the settings in map1 apply to map2, map3, ...

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1190
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: World Conquest II

Post by gfgtdf » September 21st, 2019, 10:48 am

SatHyre wrote:
September 21st, 2019, 10:27 am
i dont know if the settings in map1 apply to map2, map3, ...
they don't . I could change that (so that there woudl bea slider like for example from -50% to +50% mapsize that'd then apply to all scenarios) but that'd require features from wesnoth 1.15 so not going to happen soon.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

User avatar
SatHyre
Posts: 68
Joined: March 30th, 2008, 7:06 am
Location: dago

Re: World Conquest II

Post by SatHyre » September 22nd, 2019, 3:06 am

gfgtdf wrote:
September 21st, 2019, 10:48 am
SatHyre wrote:
September 21st, 2019, 10:27 am
i dont know if the settings in map1 apply to map2, map3, ...
they don't . I could change that (so that there woudl bea slider like for example from -50% to +50% mapsize that'd then apply to all scenarios) but that'd require features from wesnoth 1.15 so not going to happen soon.
good idea.
for players, big map means sometimes you have to run killing the AI unless you lose by turn limit.

User avatar
SatHyre
Posts: 68
Joined: March 30th, 2008, 7:06 am
Location: dago

Re: World Conquest II

Post by SatHyre » October 11th, 2019, 6:26 am

hello gfgtdf,

some requests :
- make the faction Empire available in the random list for the players.
- make the faction Dunefolk available for AI. we want to fight them.
- a new level of difficulty. more difficult than nightmare, the max level now.

in nightmare, if you play 1p, AI recruit 1 unit lvl2 at map1 ; at map2, there are 2 lvl2 + one lvl2 with item. if you play 3p, 3 units lvl2 at map1, and 6 lvl2 and 1 lvl2 with item in map2.
for this new difficulty level, just double the lvl2 : 1p got 2 lvl2 at map1 and 6 lvl2 + 1 lvl2 with item at map2. and so on.
for map3 to 5, as i dont know/count how many the lvl2 and 3 are, can you please give me the settings? before we set if we have to double them or not.

thanks in advance.

Post Reply